Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
simple and easy to make. I didn't have milk so I just used water and they still turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
These were moist and not too sweet- just the way I like them. Just be aware that the batter is a little more runny than usual muffin batter because the oatmeal doesn't soak up the liquids like flour does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Like Lynn, I altered this recipe to make it healthier. But instead of swapping apple sauce for oil, I omitted the oil and swapped 1/2 cup of the flour for 1/2 cup of finely ground flaxseeds (rich in omega 3 oil, fiber, and lignans, a chemical compound that helps build the immune system and has antioxidant and anticancer effects) I used only whole wheat flour and 2 cups berries. I baked them for 15 minutes, and these came out great! Moist, rich without being heavy, excellent texture and flavor. Coming right out of the oven they are keen to fall apart, but after they cool they keep together well. Some people are put off by the idea of flaxseeds, but if you (and your kids) already like the somewhat nutty flavor of oatmeal, you (and your kids!) will probably like the light nutty flavor of flax! Each muffin works out to having about 800mg of Omega-3, which is 80% of the 1 gram minimum RDA experts are leaning towards :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I make these all the time. My family & Co-workers love them. They are best warm. I also use frozed blueberrys in the winter. I like to srpinke some oats on top of each muffin. Then you know what you are about to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Vicker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I thought this was a great little recipe, everyone in the house loved them. However I did change it a bit. I added 1tsp of vanilla and doubled the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
yummy! i love healthy, fruity muffins and always look for good recipes to make for the kids. i did sub apple sauce for the oil, added 1/2 a cup of wheat bran, and loaded in more blueberries (prob 1.5 cups) and i'm sure they will love these when they get home =) (i've already eaten 3!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
As written this recipe is a little bland, but I do like the texture. I think with a few minor changes it could be really good. Next time, I'm going to try it with brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and extra blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Great flavor! I used whole oats, instead of the quick oats. I found this added a little more texture. I read another reviewer that mentioned soaking the oats in the milk while mixing all of the ingredients. I will try that next time to see what affect that has on whole oats. I also used 1/3 cup of brown sugar instead of the white sugar and doubled the amount of blueberries to 2 cups. Finally, I added 1 tablespoon of cinnamon and 1 Tbsp of vanilla. This really seemed to make the muffins pop. My husband wasn't particularly thrilled with these, but that's probably b/c they are healthy--no fault of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These were fantastic! What I thought were frozen blueberries turned out to be frozen blackberries but they still turned out fabulous. I upped the sugar to a half cup and made 1/4 white and 1/4 brown. They baked up well and were the perfect hearty breakfast muffin for winter. Will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heretic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
To add texture and flavor, sprinkle coarse ground sugar and cinnamon to top of muffin before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States