Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This is a very good base recipe, I was looking for something to use in order to substitute with what I had on hand. I used 1 cup oats and 1/2 cup bran, whole wheat flour, I didn't have enough milk or any oil, so I used 3/4 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup applesauce, and about 4oz of yogurt. I added cinnamon & pumpkin spice. I also had some blueberry/marmalade compote leftover so I used that along with some frozen blueberries. I basically ended up with a new recipe, but will definitely make again. Because of all the changes, my muffins were not "light + fluffy" more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Easy recipe to follow and I like the small amt of sugar and extra nutritional value from the oatmeal. I added a tblsp of lemon juice to the milk and the zest of a whole lemon. Lemon/blueberry such a great combination. Also I let the batter sit for 8 minutes to get the baking powder working. I like a raised muffin and this usually does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
it just tasted very very bland, even added cinnamon and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Loved them! i did substitute the egg for egg whites and the oil for apple sauce but they turned out moist and not too sweet. must keep recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
To die for, or rather, TO LIVE FOR muffins. I followed the recipe, took suggestions and made very few changes: 1)I used 1/3 C white whole wheat flour as part of the white flour measure (I always use King Arthur flours) and sifted it once. 2)Added a generous 1/2-2/3 cups more blues, to make it just under 2 cups that someone else suggested, 3)added about 1 TBSP of flour to them as they sat, 4)filled texas style muffin tins half way & baked closer to a full 20 mins on 350. Also added cinnamon. Last of all, I will add a bit more sugar so you barely notice it. I used fresh picked, frozen blues from Springtime, made them in June & they were fabulous! I just bought frozen ones and will try them. The 1/3 cup of WHITE whole wheat flour is perfect, and not too heavy.I ate 5 of the good sized muffins, of the 8 the recipe made. YUMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was good for a healthy muffin and they stayed fairly fresh for at least a day after making them. I substituted half of the white flour for wheat four, half of the oil for unsweetened applesauce, and half of the sugar for stevia sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Littlefield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did at a bit more sugar and another cup of blueberries. Bad thing is I could eat all of the muffins at one sitting. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I am always grateful for the reviews and the helpful insight/hints. I loved these with quite a few changes - although I don't think they're critical and there are probably lots of other possibilities. I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 regular flour; Vanilla-flavored almond milk which I think did wonders for the fat content and the FLAVOR; increased the berries to about 2 c and used a combination of blackberries, blueberries and strawberries which was tasty and BEAUTIFUL; and based on another review - I added 1/2 t of nutmeg and about 3/4 t of cinnamon. I will definitely make these (or another variation of these!) again. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
love these muffins.. everything except the amount of baking powder. I found that the taste was overpowering so I reduced it to about 2 tspns..perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
The amount of sugar is perfect and I love the fact that it calls for oatmeal. I do agree that the receipe is pretty bland. I've made these twice and the second time I added a tablespoon of cinnamon (this may be too much for some but I love cinnamon!), half teaspoon of nutmeg and a teaspoon of vanilla. MUCH better! No problem with texture or dryness. Both times they came out moist and fluffy. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States