Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I thought this was a great little recipe, everyone in the house loved them. However I did change it a bit. I added 1tsp of vanilla and doubled the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
yummy! i love healthy, fruity muffins and always look for good recipes to make for the kids. i did sub apple sauce for the oil, added 1/2 a cup of wheat bran, and loaded in more blueberries (prob 1.5 cups) and i'm sure they will love these when they get home =) (i've already eaten 3!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
As written this recipe is a little bland, but I do like the texture. I think with a few minor changes it could be really good. Next time, I'm going to try it with brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and extra blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Great flavor! I used whole oats, instead of the quick oats. I found this added a little more texture. I read another reviewer that mentioned soaking the oats in the milk while mixing all of the ingredients. I will try that next time to see what affect that has on whole oats. I also used 1/3 cup of brown sugar instead of the white sugar and doubled the amount of blueberries to 2 cups. Finally, I added 1 tablespoon of cinnamon and 1 Tbsp of vanilla. This really seemed to make the muffins pop. My husband wasn't particularly thrilled with these, but that's probably b/c they are healthy--no fault of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These were fantastic! What I thought were frozen blueberries turned out to be frozen blackberries but they still turned out fabulous. I upped the sugar to a half cup and made 1/4 white and 1/4 brown. They baked up well and were the perfect hearty breakfast muffin for winter. Will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heretic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
To add texture and flavor, sprinkle coarse ground sugar and cinnamon to top of muffin before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I really liked these, but I made some changes. I used powdered milk mixed with water to make one cup because we were short on milk. I used applesauce instead of the oil. I think this combination made them more moist so I had to double the flour. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour. I used 1/2 Splenda Brown Sugar blend instead of the white sugar. I added a bit of vanilla and cinnamon like others suggested. I also cut the baking powder down to 2tsp. I baked them for 20mins at 375 and they came out great! They are not your usual bakery type muffins but a more healthy version. My husband and I are both bariatric patients and these are "sweets" that we can actually eat without having a reaction to the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I know when rating a recipe you should make it the way it is , but I didn't and it came out great!! Added 1/2 wheat germ, increased applesauce to 1/2 cup (did not use oil), added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla extract. The BEST healthy muffin EVER!! P.s. Just out of habit, I mixed the wet ingredients first then added dry ingredients, I folded the frozen blueberries in last and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Just made these this morning to take to church. Very good! I love the oatmeal in these, and they tasted great even when using Splenda. Not overly sweet. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I kept all of the ingredients the same, but I soaked the oats in the milk while I combined the rest of the ingredients and added them just after the wet ingredients. I find it makes them softer in the muffins. Overall, an excellent recipe - the whole batch disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States