Oatmeal Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I did something unusual with this recipe. I adapted it for bannock to make while backpacking. I simply used Nido instead of milk. Just before frying in a little olive oil, I worked in just enough water to make a stiff dough. Although they were softer and harder to turn than traditional bannock, the flavor and texture were just marvelous. I can't wait to make these on the trail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Yum Yum!! These were great. I used whole wheat flour. I want to try the molasses idea and the cranberries and walnuts. Great ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
So good. I used rolled oats and allowed them to sit in the milk for 5 minutes before adding them. Also, I did not use a biscuit cutter but instead broke the dough into 2 discs them cut them like a pizza. This yielded me 12 large biscuits. A great alternative to whole wheat biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Just like the ones my great grandma used to make! I have her recipe but the 'handfuls' as measurements never worked out for me. This recipe tastes great! I did half and half white to whole wheat flour and it's wonderful! Thanks very much! I like mine plain or with strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
SO YUMMY! Especially warm with a little bit of maple butter (also from this site) on top. MMMMMM! The only change I made was to use butter instead of shortening. These are wonderful as is, but I would love to try some adaptations as well. I'd love to try them with browned butter. Also, maybe with some different flavourings, like vanilla, maple, or almond extract. Adding raisins or even chocolate chips might be tasty too. Definitely an awesome and easy recipe, thanks Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I had my doubts but this is a wonderful recipe. The biscuits are light with a great texture and I used whole wheat flour. I did substitute butter for shortening and added walnuts and dried cranberries. It made 15 good size biscuits. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Wow! I was a little skeptical at first, but, wow, these are really good. I didn't have enough brown sugar, so I substituted molasses and white sugar. It didn't mix up as well as I hoped, but it must have mixed up good enough! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe that can be adapted to suit almost any diet! My family is celiac (cannot eat gluten) and I simply use gluten free product in place of non-gluten products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Go dairy free on this recipe by replacing the milk with 1 cup of almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States