Oatmeal Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by backyardescape
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Great recipe! I took other's suggestions & added more bananas, a little cinamon & topped it off with a little oats/sugar. Doubled the batch to give to my neighbor! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This recipe made for very moist banana bread. I used 4 bananas, used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar, and added in a teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg, and a 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to the batter. I also did as others suggested and mixed together some cinnamon, sugar, and oats and sprinkled on top before putting the batter in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Too crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I used half brown sugar and half white sugar, and half shortening and half softened butter. Minus the nuts bc my roomate has a nut allergy, but that didnt make a difference! It was still an excellent bread with fantastic taste! I did take some advice and bake this at 300° and checked it at 55 minutes. The toothpick came out clean so i hurried and yanked it out. I may have slightly overbaked it but even if i did, i couldnt tell. It was still very moist and delicious. Word of advice, if you dont have any bananas on hand or your bananas arent quite rip enough, subsitute it for pureed banana baby food! Works just the same, and save you wait of waiting for bananas to ripen..enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Brinster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I baked it this morning.. I used ''Vegetable Oil'' instead of shortening.. and followed the recipe to a T... I brushed some honey over the top after if was done and sprinkled Oats over it... It's very moist ... could use some ''spices'', but it's still good... will make for ''Gifts'' over the Holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Littlerock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe is absolutely GREAT! I made it using brown suger, and added half cup of peanut butter, a cup of Craisins, and a chopped up bar of dark chocolate. Baked up very dark brown. To die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
My 9 year old daughter and I loved this. She said it is one of the best things she has ever tasted. It melts in your mouth. I used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 applesauce to make a little healthier. Plus the only oatmeal I had was a package of apples & cinnamon instant oatmeal. So put a whole package of it in. Then used pecans instead of walnuts because I had them on hand. We will add raisins next time-- daughter's suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
One of the best recipes. Made large muffins with this and baked it for about 35 minutes. Bananas were very ripe. Added about 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp almond extract, omitted walnuts ( for PawPaw!). Personal preferences- I believe that without these small changes, it is still one of the best recipes. all of the ingredients were already in my kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Basic recipe is quite good. I made the following changes: I used organic solidified coconut oil instead of shortening. I used C&H sugar/stevia blend instead of real sugar. I used half stoneground whole wheat pastry flour with regular unbleached flour. I used old fashioned oats. I also added 1/3 cup sweetened coconut. The coconut added a wonderful flavor. And 1 tsp. of Saigon Cinnamon. Also, I use organic ingredients whenever possible. This banana bread turned out great! It is truly THE best banana bread I have ever made. I have been baking over 40 years for friends and family so I am pleased with the results. I believe the changes I made to the recipe made it better. A note: I have made pie crust with the coconut oil and it is fantastic. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Dooley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States