Oatmeal Banana Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
These were excellent. I used whole wheat flour and added a couple of tablespoons of ground flax, as well I added 1 tsp of cinnamon. I was worried they would be too sweet with the honey, but they weren't. These baked up golden and beautiful. I baked these as well as an banana oatmeal muffin recipe on this site that had 147 votes for 5 stars and this recipe is far tastier. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I don't usually review recipes that I've altered but this one came out so delicious despite my many changes that I just had to share how forgiving it is. I used EVOO instead of butter/margarine, 4 tbs. of egg whites in place of the eggs, 1/2 cup of honey instead of 3/4 cup, added a bit of applesauce to the banana mixture to make it a full cup, switched the flour mixture to 1 cup whole wheat, 1/2 cup all-purpose, and sprinkled cinnamon on top before baking. The result? The absolute best muffins I've ever tasted, let alone made. AND HEALTHY! This one's going straight to the front of my recipe box. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN5502

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
These were great. The only thing I changed was instead of 11/2 cups of all -purpose flour, I used 1 cup all-purpose and 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour. And I used ripe bananas and I figured that would add enough "sweetness" so I omitted the honey. But then used brown sugar instead of the called 1/2 cup white sugar. It actually turned out like cupcakes, very moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
First, as others mention this is a muffin, not a cupcake. I think my personal rating would've been a 3, but my kids ate these right up so I'll grade up. Even my daughter who strongly dislikes banana kept asking for more...and here's why. They don't taste much like banana. This is why I would've only given them a 3 star rating. I think the amounts of honey and sugar should be reversed as these taste much more like honey than they do banana - it would also keep them from being on the dense side. Plus, I felt they could've been slightly sweeter. I will make these again, but I think I will try blackberry honey to complement the banana as clover honey overpowered the banana, and I will reverse the amounts of honey/sugar. I did use cinnamon, and that added a nice flavor. Also, 1 cup banana is equal to 2 1/2 regular sized bananas just in case you were wondering if you had enough banana before you started making this recipe. My final tip, do not use an electric mixer! Only packaged cake mix should use an electric mixer as they put tenderizer in their flour. Using an electric mixer will release too much of the gluten making a tougher muffin. A strong arm and wooden spoon is a better bet. This muffin is already on the dense side, so don't do it an injustice by over mixing. Stop using your mixer after the butter has been creamed, and then move on to the spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
OMG! Yummy! I was a bit worried about the batter being a little too wet and thought that I SHOULD have lessened the honey - but these were great! Mine didn't poof over the edge of the cupcake top like most do but I can't wait to frost (yes they are already sweet) with Cream Cheese Frosting II. I talked my boyfriend into these instead of our usual chocolate cupcakes:-) Oh and don't taste the uncooked batter - It is SOOO good I ate about 4 muffins worth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Very tasty, and I agree with cookinchris that they are more muffin than cupcake, especially since I subbed WW flour for 1/2 cup of the flour, and brown sugar for white. Great recipe for those too-ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was amazing. They came out nice and moist. I used a few variations. Instead of using all margarine, I used 1/4 cup canola oil & 1/4 cup margarine. I only used 1/4 cup of honey and added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Also, in place of regualar oats, I used instand cinnamon oatmeal to subsidize some of the sweetness in place of the reduced amount of honey. My husband LOVED these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Awesome! Really delicious, moist and a huge hit with both grownups and kids alike! I think they are more like muffins than cupcakes, as they are hearty and more filling than a cupcake. I make these "cupcakes" once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This recipe is sooooo yummy, although it really is more like a muffin than a cupcake. (Am I back to the different between a muffin and cupcake?) No matter, these are going into my regular Muffin rotation file. They are healthy too using only 1/2 cup sugar and 3/4 cup honey. I love to cook using local honey because of my alergies. So, this is a "for sure" keeper! Also, I had to use extreme control because I wanted to add nuts, but I didn't and they were wonderful. I may add nuts the next, I may not. GREAT muffin recipe! Thank you Louise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Definitely muffins, not cupcakes. Easily adjust the recipe to suit your taste. I added raisins and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States