Oatmeal Banana Cinnamon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Wow! I LOVE this bread! It tastes so wonderful and it was so easy to throw in the bread machine. My only alterations were: not mashing the bananas (they were ripe enough to just break in half and put in the bottom of the bread pan and let the machine do the work); Using whole wheat bread machine flour since we were out of white BMF; no orange extract (didn't have any); and I did add two heaping tbsps of flour during the mixing cycle since it looked so liquidy. This may not have been necessary, but it sure looked like it was. I kept everything else in the recipe exact and the flavors came together so well. This is one of the best breads I've made in the bread machine, the flavor is so yummy. It is not sweet but very hearty, if you want it sweeter I'd add 1/4 cup brown sugar, but you should try it the way it's written first, you won't be dissapointed. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Wow! The subtle flavors all mingle together in this wonderful bread to create a party for your tastebuds. I let my bread machine do the work thru the second rise, then I took it out to shape into loaf and bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 35 minutes. Yummy! Because the dough was somewhat sticky, I will add 2-4T of flour extra next time.Thanks for sharing Julie. This is a definite keeper...and it makes great toast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
As previous reviewers have said, this recipe definitely needed more flour. I probably added another 1 1/2 cups. The banana flavor wasn't strong, but I think the taste and texture were good overall. I followed a previous reviewers advice and used the dough setting. I let the dough rest for 10 minutes, shaped it into a loaf, and then allowed it to rise for 30 minutes. I then baked the loaf for 30 minutes at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I really enjoyed this! The bread texture is spongy and has great flavor. I was expecting it to dry up pretty quickly, but its still pretty moist after a couple of days! I didn't have any extracts other than vanilla but still loved it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I don't normally rate less stars on breads if they require more flour (the amount really does depend on the humidity in your area), but eveyone seems to be having that issue with this bread. I had to add 3/4 c more flour to get to a bread dough consistency. I didn't bother mashing the bananas either; bread machines will chop things up pretty well on their own so I don't usually mash or chop myself. I used almond extract and lemon extract (don't have butter or orange extract although I think I'll get some!) and the dough smelled so wonderful while mixing. I baked in the oven at 375 for 50 min and it came out a beautiful loaf. I let it sit in the warm oven for a bit longer just to make sure it was baked and it worked well. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I thought this was very good. I made it in the dough cycle of my machine, let rise an hour, and baked at 350 for 30 min. Nice soft crust and soft inside. It is a yeast bread--you're not going to get as much banana flavor as you do in a quick bread. But I could definitely taste the banana. I did not have orange extract and added more vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I don't know what happened. The bread was very heavy. I didn't care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
My husband did this in the bread machine and it turned out very well. Instead of the orange extract, we used ¼ of a tangerine and no zest. I liked the fact that it was fairly light (unusual for an oatmeal bread), very flavorful and makes great toast after that initial "first, warm heavenly piece"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
It did not raise enough. I read all the comments and added 3/4 cup of flour extra. I have Oster Bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Barantseva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Barely tasted the banana, the cinnamon was overpowering. Would leave that out next time not fond of the 2 flavours together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States