Oatmeal Banana Cinnamon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
My husband did this in the bread machine and it turned out very well. Instead of the orange extract, we used ¼ of a tangerine and no zest. I liked the fact that it was fairly light (unusual for an oatmeal bread), very flavorful and makes great toast after that initial "first, warm heavenly piece"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
It did not raise enough. I read all the comments and added 3/4 cup of flour extra. I have Oster Bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Barantseva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Barely tasted the banana, the cinnamon was overpowering. Would leave that out next time not fond of the 2 flavours together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
If your not a banana bread liker this is the bread for you-you cannot taste the banana in this at all. It is a good bread but tastes as white bread with a hint of orange. I only changed two things-I used a pat of butter instead of butter extract and I used two Tbsp. Sugar instead of one, but it still wasn't at all sweet. Still it is a good bread-we ate it with some peanut butter for breakfast. I used the delay option on my bread machine to bake it ready for breakfast, so my oats soaked up the water really good so I had no runny batter issues. This bread I feel is going to be perfect for tomorrow's Chicken Salad lunches! The orange hint will fit poulty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This bread was very good. I followed everything but the extracts, which I didn't have, just some orange peel which i used, I loved the texture and the flavor. I brought it to work and they loved it also, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I thought this was very good. I made it in the dough cycle of my machine, let rise an hour, and baked at 350 for 30 min. Nice soft crust and soft inside. It is a yeast bread--you're not going to get as much banana flavor as you do in a quick bread. But I could definitely taste the banana. I did not have orange extract and added more vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
As previous reviewers have said, this recipe definitely needed more flour. I probably added another 1 1/2 cups. The banana flavor wasn't strong, but I think the taste and texture were good overall. I followed a previous reviewers advice and used the dough setting. I let the dough rest for 10 minutes, shaped it into a loaf, and then allowed it to rise for 30 minutes. I then baked the loaf for 30 minutes at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I don't normally rate less stars on breads if they require more flour (the amount really does depend on the humidity in your area), but eveyone seems to be having that issue with this bread. I had to add 3/4 c more flour to get to a bread dough consistency. I didn't bother mashing the bananas either; bread machines will chop things up pretty well on their own so I don't usually mash or chop myself. I used almond extract and lemon extract (don't have butter or orange extract although I think I'll get some!) and the dough smelled so wonderful while mixing. I baked in the oven at 375 for 50 min and it came out a beautiful loaf. I let it sit in the warm oven for a bit longer just to make sure it was baked and it worked well. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I don't know what happened. The bread was very heavy. I didn't care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I didn't care for this bread to much. Not a lot of flavor, or sweet enough. I did use orange juice instead of extract. My husband said it was ok. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States