Oatmeal Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
A great healthy muffin that is a keeper! I didn't have half & half, so substituted buttermilk. I didn't find them dry - maybe because I tried not to overbake. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
These muffins are awesome! Friends and family raved about the fruitiness of these muffins and said they needed no butter. I did substitute fat free buttermilk for the half & half, used Cherry Flavored Craisins & increased the nuts to 3/4 cup. My oven cooks fast, so they were done in 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I made "muffin-tops" out of this recipe- just plopped 2tb onto a cookie sheet and baked at 350 for 14 min. I used skim milk instead of 1/2&1/2, white flour instead of wheat, and omitted the nuts. They are absolutely delicious! Not dry- (wheat flour is very dry and dense- haven't figured out a way to make it taste good yet) Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I have modified this recipe and made it quite a few times. I omit the walnuts but add extra fruit - 1/3 cup each of chopped prunes, craisins, apricots and raisins, and one tablespoon of sunflower seeds. I use regular rolled oats, 1/4 cup of oil (instead of the stated measure). Also, I grate the apple rather than chop it and this makes the mixture much more moist. I bake in an 10 cup bar muffin tray (instead of the round ones)for around 20 minutes. The result is a golden brown, flavoursome, substantial and very filling jumbo muffin that we use as a breakfast alternative - on busy days we eat in the car on the way to work. PS. I have also used smaller round muffin moulds and have gotten about 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplepiscean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Yum! The recipe tasted great despite using plain milk and omitting the raisins and walnuts. My muffins were done a touch early, so keep an eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Oops.. I forgot to put in the baking powder! I was wondering why they weren't rising.... Nevertheless, they turned out well! I didn't have a problem with them being too dry, but I did change some things. I used fresh cranberries instead of dried and I added some more spices. Didn't have any nuts, so I left that out. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I;ve been looking for a low-cal bar or muffin made with wheat flour & here it is. Tasty, you bet! All these ingredients together are yummy! Only thing is I had to "mash" them in the muffin liners,(no big deal on that). It made me 20 cupcakes(small liners).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Husband and I loved these muffins. Being a WW member, loved the nutrition facts. Decided to bake them on moments notice. Used Splenda, didn't have half-n-half, so I used 2% milk, also used rye flour instead of whole wheat (didn't have any in the house). Healthy, sweet, wonderful, filling. Going to try them with mixed dried fruit pieces, maybe a banana instead of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
delicious. I used pear instead of apple and omitted the walnuts. I also replaced half of the milk (never even heard of fat-free half and half) with applesauce although I had to add a bit more milk. I think that this probably made it more moist. I also used regular oats as that was all that I had but they were still good, just a little more crumbly. I know that I changed a lot but this is still a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
These are incredible! The only changes I made are: replaced cream with 1% milk, and added 1/2 cup pecans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States