Oatmeal Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I have modified this recipe and made it quite a few times. I omit the walnuts but add extra fruit - 1/3 cup each of chopped prunes, craisins, apricots and raisins, and one tablespoon of sunflower seeds. I use regular rolled oats, 1/4 cup of oil (instead of the stated measure). Also, I grate the apple rather than chop it and this makes the mixture much more moist. I bake in an 10 cup bar muffin tray (instead of the round ones)for around 20 minutes. The result is a golden brown, flavoursome, substantial and very filling jumbo muffin that we use as a breakfast alternative - on busy days we eat in the car on the way to work. PS. I have also used smaller round muffin moulds and have gotten about 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplepiscean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I was delighted to see this recipe in the sunday daily news. It had all ingredients that I like. I am wondering if something was missing since it was such a heavy consistency and didn't rise at all nor taste good. I read the recipe over twice to be sure I had included all the ingredients and everything was as listed. It was a great disappointment and waste of many expensive ingredients. Please help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I made "muffin-tops" out of this recipe- just plopped 2tb onto a cookie sheet and baked at 350 for 14 min. I used skim milk instead of 1/2&1/2, white flour instead of wheat, and omitted the nuts. They are absolutely delicious! Not dry- (wheat flour is very dry and dense- haven't figured out a way to make it taste good yet) Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Definately have the oven at 350, not 450! These are yummy muffins! I didn't have half/half (nor did I want the calories) so I used fat-free evaporated milk. I omitted the cranberries and nuts since the family doesn't care for them. Didn't have quick oats, so I ground 1 cup of regular oats in the blender to make a flour. I also made one recipe with Splenda and one with sugar. My husband did not care for the aftertaste of the Splenda muffins, and with only a 1/3 cup of sugar, this doesn't add much sugar per muffin. I will stick to this next time. I shredded the apple, as well. Very moist, yummy and good-as well as healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This recipe made delicious muffins. I had no fat free half and half, so I used rice milk. I also used regular oats, as I didn't have quick oats. I used half white and half whole wheat flours, and I grated the apple. I left out the walnuts because my husband doesn't care for them. Here's how I put it together: soaked the oats with the milk, egg, oil and grated apple. While they were soaking, mix the flours, sugar, salt, baking powder, spices and raisins. Combined the two quickly and put into a greased, standard (12) muffin tin. Baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. They were light and moist and very tasty. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Pretty good muffin for a healthier muffin. Used applesauce rather than apple, milk (less of due to applesauce), and regular oats (soaked in liquid ingredients while measuring dry ingredients and spraying pans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I used Fuji apples,as they are much more moist, also used a shake of real maple syrup. Everyone rated them a 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannaluvsgrands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
One of these makes a filling, easy to grab breakfast. I add wheat germ for added fiber and prefer to heat the muffin by wrapping in a paper towel and put in microwave for 20 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
A great healthy muffin that is a keeper! I didn't have half & half, so substituted buttermilk. I didn't find them dry - maybe because I tried not to overbake. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
These came out very dry and much too dense, even for health food. My family would not eat them, although they picked out the craisins, which are always tasty, and munched on those. I thought that I would be okay making a recipe from USA Weekend, but no. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States