Oatmeal Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Some ground cloves added some good flavor to this recipe. Also, I used oat flour (ground the oatmeal to flour in the food processor) instead of the oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Delicious! It's healthy and if you use a little less sugar and add some applesauce instead of the oil(or you can use some oil and some applesauce), it's even healthier! I am always looking for a good whole wheat recipe and this is one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Very tasty and pretty healthy. I just made these and am finishing one as I write this...I didn't have half and half so I so substituted equal parts heavy cream and skim milk and they're a bit too crumbly, so I'd go for the 1/2 and 1/2 next time. Otherwise, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I agree that these were too dry. I used buttermilk and grated the apple. They also have a strong flavor of baking powder, even though they did not rise much. Will definitely keep looking for a better oatmeal apple muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These are delicious! So good it's almost like dessert! I followed the recipe for the most part, though I did increase to 1/4 cup of oil, shredded the apple, used regular milk w/ vinegar trick and added 1/2 cup diced dried apricots. I reduced the oven temp to 375 degrees. These were very, very good. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These turned out really good! Having read previous reviews that they were dry, I added an extra TBsp of oil. I didn't have all the ingredients so I substituted: skim milk instead of half-and-half, unbleached flour instead of whole wheat, and pecans instead of walnuts. Fuji apple chunks really made them super moist and sweet. Great for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
These were pretty good and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is exactly the kind of flexible recipe I was looking for this morning to scrape together a Sunday breakfast. I did two batches of these (big family). I omitted the walnuts and cranberries in both. In the first batch I used a large granny smith apple, shredding 1/3 (for the moisture) and chopping 2/3 (cause I love those apple pieces). I didn't have any half and half (or milk, even) so I scraped together 3/4 cup homemade yogurt (adding a bit of water to the jar and shaking!) I also used 1/2 cup pure maple syrup instead of sugar (we like to use unprocessed sugars), all whole wheat flour, and expeller expressed safflower oil. Also, 1T of baking powder seemed a lot to me, so I used just under 1T. This filled a large 12 cup muffin stone pan. For the second batch I did all the same except I used 2 small fancy red apples, chopping one and shredding one. And for the dairy used 1/4 cup of the yogurt and the other 1/2 cup I used fresh from the farm jersey cream. I got 40 mini muffins out of this batch. Both were really fluffy, soft and apple cinnamony. :) Will definitely be using this again. Thanks! Oh, I almost forgot I baked these at 400, 20 minutes for the large muffins and 10 minutes for the mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I just made these and thought they were good. I was hesitant to make them because of some of the reviews said they were dense. I went ahead and made them and I'm not disappointed. I made only 2 changes. I shredded the apple and baked at 375. I didn't add quite as much cinnamon because they are for my toddler and didn't want them too "spicey". But I didn't think they were dense. Oh, and I chopped my cranberries so that my little one couldn't pick them out and didn't add the full amount. She liked them and I liked them. Simple, nothing fancy, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These turned out quite nicely...first, the temperature is definitely wrong, which would explain some of the low reviews, I think. I baked at 350 and made some modifications due to lack of ingredients in my pantry. I used 2% milk instead of ff half & half, 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white flour, left out the nuts and dried fruit. I grated 2 smallish apples and threw in a handful of peanut butter chips. My daughter is enjoying these for a healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States