Oatmeal Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great flavor! I tried making this as a coffee-cake in my bundt cake pottery at 350... it didn't get cooked by 45 mins... we ate some almost-cooked. Tasty! Then I stuck the rest back in the oven at 5 min intervals. It finally got cooked but I lost track of the time so I really don't know how long it took.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Oops.. I forgot to put in the baking powder! I was wondering why they weren't rising.... Nevertheless, they turned out well! I didn't have a problem with them being too dry, but I did change some things. I used fresh cranberries instead of dried and I added some more spices. Didn't have any nuts, so I left that out. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
A great healthy muffin that is a keeper! I didn't have half & half, so substituted buttermilk. I didn't find them dry - maybe because I tried not to overbake. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
delicious. I used pear instead of apple and omitted the walnuts. I also replaced half of the milk (never even heard of fat-free half and half) with applesauce although I had to add a bit more milk. I think that this probably made it more moist. I also used regular oats as that was all that I had but they were still good, just a little more crumbly. I know that I changed a lot but this is still a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Pretty good muffin for a healthier muffin. Used applesauce rather than apple, milk (less of due to applesauce), and regular oats (soaked in liquid ingredients while measuring dry ingredients and spraying pans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I made "muffin-tops" out of this recipe- just plopped 2tb onto a cookie sheet and baked at 350 for 14 min. I used skim milk instead of 1/2&1/2, white flour instead of wheat, and omitted the nuts. They are absolutely delicious! Not dry- (wheat flour is very dry and dense- haven't figured out a way to make it taste good yet) Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I liked these a lot but I do agree that they are a bit dry. I'm going to freeze mine & warm them up in the microwave & hopefully that will moisten them up! I tend to make the mistake of not chopping my apples up nice & small so next time I might try mashing them up before adding to the batter. I used applesauce instead of oil & left out the walnuts & raisins. They tasted wonderful but next time I think I'll use 1/2 cup Splenda just to sweeten it up a tad. Thanks so much for all the healthy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
These muffins are awesome! Friends and family raved about the fruitiness of these muffins and said they needed no butter. I did substitute fat free buttermilk for the half & half, used Cherry Flavored Craisins & increased the nuts to 3/4 cup. My oven cooks fast, so they were done in 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
WE REALLY ENJOYED THIS HEALTHY MUFFIN. IT WA A LITTLE BIT DRY, SO NEXT TIME I WILL ADD A LITTLE MORE CHOPPED APPLES. DEFINITELY A KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I thought these were wonderful! I used sugar and pecans, because I didn't have walnuts. I will definitely make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States