Oatmeal Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I only had white flour on hand and used that. I didn't have problems with it being too dry at all. I tasted a bit of the baking powder though, so I might change that a bit next time. Other than that, they were great and my 1 year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrenae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I took other people's reviews into account shredded the apples and baked it at 350 for 20 min. They turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Yum! The recipe tasted great despite using plain milk and omitting the raisins and walnuts. My muffins were done a touch early, so keep an eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
So, for a healthy muffin, this was pretty darn good. Relatively low fat, and some good fiber and protein content. I substituted 2% milk for the half-and-half and used 1/2 cup whole wheat and flour and 1/2 cup of white flour. I also omitted the raisins, nuts, and nutmeg to suit my own tastes. I'm VERY glad someone else mentioned the 350/450 mishap or I might have missed it. I baked them at 350 and they came out just fine--I think 450 would be a mistake. The apples are the best part--next time around, I would use more. The muffins are still moist but could use a little more flavor. I will be making these again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
These are incredible! The only changes I made are: replaced cream with 1% milk, and added 1/2 cup pecans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I used spelt flour in this recipe. We liked the muffins, it was kind of like eating apple crisp in muffin-form due to the texture and spices. Next time I will grate the apple to see if the helps with moisture - mine were a bit dry. This is a very healthy recipe and I was pleased with the results. If you are looking for super moist, sweet, light and fluffy muffins you should go with a full fat version made with refined flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I am amazed that this temperature is right - 450 would never work for a muffin! They are great when baked at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I have modified this recipe and made it quite a few times. I omit the walnuts but add extra fruit - 1/3 cup each of chopped prunes, craisins, apricots and raisins, and one tablespoon of sunflower seeds. I use regular rolled oats, 1/4 cup of oil (instead of the stated measure). Also, I grate the apple rather than chop it and this makes the mixture much more moist. I bake in an 10 cup bar muffin tray (instead of the round ones)for around 20 minutes. The result is a golden brown, flavoursome, substantial and very filling jumbo muffin that we use as a breakfast alternative - on busy days we eat in the car on the way to work. PS. I have also used smaller round muffin moulds and have gotten about 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplepiscean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great flavor! I tried making this as a coffee-cake in my bundt cake pottery at 350... it didn't get cooked by 45 mins... we ate some almost-cooked. Tasty! Then I stuck the rest back in the oven at 5 min intervals. It finally got cooked but I lost track of the time so I really don't know how long it took.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Oops.. I forgot to put in the baking powder! I was wondering why they weren't rising.... Nevertheless, they turned out well! I didn't have a problem with them being too dry, but I did change some things. I used fresh cranberries instead of dried and I added some more spices. Didn't have any nuts, so I left that out. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States