Oatmeal Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I LOVED this recipe as a healthy option and is great asa breakfast muffin. Theo nly changes I made, based on the other reviews was changing the temp. to 350, I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour, I did'nt have half and half cream so I used 1% milk and it was fine, I also added ground flax seed. The walnuts, dried cranberries and apple are amazing together in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Definately have the oven at 350, not 450! These are yummy muffins! I didn't have half/half (nor did I want the calories) so I used fat-free evaporated milk. I omitted the cranberries and nuts since the family doesn't care for them. Didn't have quick oats, so I ground 1 cup of regular oats in the blender to make a flour. I also made one recipe with Splenda and one with sugar. My husband did not care for the aftertaste of the Splenda muffins, and with only a 1/3 cup of sugar, this doesn't add much sugar per muffin. I will stick to this next time. I shredded the apple, as well. Very moist, yummy and good-as well as healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I only had white flour on hand and used that. I didn't have problems with it being too dry at all. I tasted a bit of the baking powder though, so I might change that a bit next time. Other than that, they were great and my 1 year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrenae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I took other people's reviews into account shredded the apples and baked it at 350 for 20 min. They turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Yum! The recipe tasted great despite using plain milk and omitting the raisins and walnuts. My muffins were done a touch early, so keep an eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
So, for a healthy muffin, this was pretty darn good. Relatively low fat, and some good fiber and protein content. I substituted 2% milk for the half-and-half and used 1/2 cup whole wheat and flour and 1/2 cup of white flour. I also omitted the raisins, nuts, and nutmeg to suit my own tastes. I'm VERY glad someone else mentioned the 350/450 mishap or I might have missed it. I baked them at 350 and they came out just fine--I think 450 would be a mistake. The apples are the best part--next time around, I would use more. The muffins are still moist but could use a little more flavor. I will be making these again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
These are incredible! The only changes I made are: replaced cream with 1% milk, and added 1/2 cup pecans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I used spelt flour in this recipe. We liked the muffins, it was kind of like eating apple crisp in muffin-form due to the texture and spices. Next time I will grate the apple to see if the helps with moisture - mine were a bit dry. This is a very healthy recipe and I was pleased with the results. If you are looking for super moist, sweet, light and fluffy muffins you should go with a full fat version made with refined flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I am amazed that this temperature is right - 450 would never work for a muffin! They are great when baked at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I have modified this recipe and made it quite a few times. I omit the walnuts but add extra fruit - 1/3 cup each of chopped prunes, craisins, apricots and raisins, and one tablespoon of sunflower seeds. I use regular rolled oats, 1/4 cup of oil (instead of the stated measure). Also, I grate the apple rather than chop it and this makes the mixture much more moist. I bake in an 10 cup bar muffin tray (instead of the round ones)for around 20 minutes. The result is a golden brown, flavoursome, substantial and very filling jumbo muffin that we use as a breakfast alternative - on busy days we eat in the car on the way to work. PS. I have also used smaller round muffin moulds and have gotten about 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplepiscean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States