Oatmeal Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
good breakfast muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made these muffins and had a great time especially with the Christmas smell. I made a couple of modifications due to ingredients that I had on hand. I used 3/4 cup skim milk, backed off the sugar to about 1/4 cup, 1 cup frozen cranberries (chopped in food processor), omitted the nuts, 1/2 cup white flour, 1/2 cup wheatgermaid, 2 1/2 tsp pumkin pie spice. Everything else was per the recipe. I then topped the muffins with cinnimon chips before baking. The muffins were fabulous and pretty good on texture. The smell through the house was fabulous as well while they were cooking. The smell changed as the different ingredients began to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This recipe turned out fantastically for me, but I made a few changes to suit my tastes. I decreased the half-and-half by a quarter cup and substituted with fresh apple cider I had on hand (tis the season!). I also added fresh cranberries (that is what I had on hand) and doubled the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added cloves and ginger to taste. Lastly, I crunched up banana chips and put them on top of each muffin before baking. Delicious and fairly nutritious. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
For being healthy muffins these are good. :) I just made banana honey whole wheat muffins and they weren't good so it's a nice change. I grated the apple and added 1/4 cup oil (as previously suggested). I didn't add the walnut and substituted honey (slightly overflowing the 1/3 cup. I'd make these again... oh and they make great mini muffins. Baked at 375 - 15 minutes for regular and 10 minutes for the mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Everyone in my family loved these muffins, including all 4 kids. I used honey (1/4 cup) instead of sugar or splenda. They were dry,but nothing that a glass of milk didn't fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I was a little bit weary to make these, after reading other reviews claiming that these muffins turned out dense and tasteless. I decided to give them a try anyways, based on the "healthier" ingredient list, and I am happy that I made them! They definitely taste healthy and will be a good on-the-go breakfast option at my house. The only change I made was to use applesauce in place of the oil. Also I cooked them at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. I think 450 degrees might be too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CPilling
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Picture was deceiving... there's no way that picture is made with this recipe. The muffins were pretty good - although, dense and a little dry. Wish I'd read all the recommendations for extras before baking. However, even if you follow the recipe to the letter, they taste pretty good, and you can say to yourself, "they definitely taste healthy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPilling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Just what I was looking for! My whole wheat flour tends to absorb moisture, so I added a couple of splashes of apple juice as I folded the wet/dry together. The muffins turned out light and fluffy - not dense like I thought they might be given the reviews. I like the tartness of the cranberries along with the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Fabulous receipe! The only change I made was to use half whole wheat and half regular flour. I also used dried cranberries instead of raisins. The texture was wonderful and there was sweetness, tartness and crunch all rolled into one. I used paper liners sprayed with Pam and baked at 350 (instead of 450) for 20 minutes. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Some ground cloves added some good flavor to this recipe. Also, I used oat flour (ground the oatmeal to flour in the food processor) instead of the oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States