Oatmeal and Wheat Flour Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Really enjoyed the moist heartiness of this recipe! Like some other reviewers, I used applesauce instead of oil. I also substituted whole spelt flour for whole wheat and whole milk for soy milk. I didn't have quick cooking oats so I coarsely ground up regular oats, and I also doubled the blueberries. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Amazing! Even my 4 year old and mother in law both loved them! I have no business changing someone else's recipe, but I did change olive oil to applesauce. Second time I also doubled recipe for more people. Still good but It didn't come out as well. I'm sure there is an adjustment you chefs would do better. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I think adjusting some of the oatmeal for flour would make the consistency a little smoother. I didn't like it that much. Curious about the reason for using olive oil rather than vegetable oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
The texture of these were surprisingly smooth and fluffy. I did add a little cinnamon and more blueberries for our taste. It was nice to enjoy pancakes and not feel guilty. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I like the jest of the recipe. As some others mentioned about a bitter aftertaste. I noticed it too, which I think is from the baking powder. 2 tablespoons seems like a lot. I will make these pancakes again using only 2 teaspoons of baking powder. I used 1% milk, no oil applesauce instead. Used fresh blueberries (1 1/2 cups), only two eggs and added some cinnamon & vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made some adjustments according to what we had on hand. I used buttermilk instead of soy milk. I used vegetable oil instead of olive oil. I processed my oats in the blender first so the were more like flour. And, for the flour, I used a cup of white whole-wheat flour. I didn't add the blueberries directly to the batter, rather I dropped them into the pancakes as I put them on the griddle. Also, as with any pancake recipe, I did not over stir the batter - you want to stir just until everything is moistened. Once you have done that, let the batter rest a good 5 - 10 minutes before cooking; that will give you a fluffier pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is one of my favorite breakfast recipes! I love the texture and taste of these pancakes. You would never know there is oatmeal in the recipe unless someone told you. I follow the recipe for the most part, with the exception of the soy milk. I use whatever milk I have on hand (whole, skim, etc.) and they have always turned out great. This Saturday I used buckwheat flour in place of the whole wheat flour, and they were one of the best batches I have made! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
These are great...the only thing I would change is to up the blueberries which I did to about a cup. For personal preference I used coconut oil in place of the olive oil. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Way too much milk. I add more flour & it was still too thin. Definitely not thick enough to hold blueberries. But the taste is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
These come out great. I used old fashioned oats, regular milk, and added a splash of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States