Oatmeal and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2000
This was a surprisingly good soup, although we were leery of it at first. It was thick and could be a good meal by itself or with a sandwich or some good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Way better than I had expected! It was tasty, healthy, filling and relatively easy to prepare. Like other people suggested, I added dried oregano and basil. (I sauteed them with onion, garlic, and margarine.) We are non-vegetarian so I added a cube of chicken bullion instead of salt. I also sprinkled some cheese when I served. Since it was my lazy one dish supper, I even added frozen spinach at the very end of cooking. I am so satisfied and glad that I tried this recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I served this one night and my husband had two bowls and said it was really good. I told him it had oatmeal in it and he was shocked. I bought a pamphlet at a garage sale that was budget weekly menus from the 1920 and it mentioned oatmeal soup and I was happy to find this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I wasn't sure about this recipe, but I tried it and we all loved it. Even my 14-month-old daughter. I thought I'd need to add some herbs to it, but toasting the oats and pressing the garlic made it really yummy! Surprisingly, I'll be making this again and again. It's a great "desperation" dinner. It only takes about 15 minutes to make. I used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This soup is WONDERFUL!!! It is very fast, extremely easy, and has wonderful flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
very good soup! i added a chicken boullion cube.. also made it with condensed tomato soup and garlic powder.. both times it was very good! i recommend trying this recipe, as weird as it sounds. Do not serve inmediatly. if you want it for lunch make in the morning or night before. trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Delicious! I substitued 1% milk for the water, since my family prefers cream of tomato soup. I also added a small can of tomato sauce, basil and oregano. It's a wonderful alternative to canned tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This is sooo much better than any canned soup you can imagine. The oatmeal was a plesant deveation from the "tried and true" We loved and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was really good and filling. I added loads of herbs and spices, and used veggie broth instead of water. This is an excellent base for a yummy, healthy, cheap, and quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very good! Next time I will add veggies and beef. I bet that will be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States