Oatmeal and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Way better than I had expected! It was tasty, healthy, filling and relatively easy to prepare. Like other people suggested, I added dried oregano and basil. (I sauteed them with onion, garlic, and margarine.) We are non-vegetarian so I added a cube of chicken bullion instead of salt. I also sprinkled some cheese when I served. Since it was my lazy one dish supper, I even added frozen spinach at the very end of cooking. I am so satisfied and glad that I tried this recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Delicious! I substitued 1% milk for the water, since my family prefers cream of tomato soup. I also added a small can of tomato sauce, basil and oregano. It's a wonderful alternative to canned tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2000
This was a surprisingly good soup, although we were leery of it at first. It was thick and could be a good meal by itself or with a sandwich or some good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Nice, but a bit bland. I added tabasco and worchestershire sauce and broke up the tomatoes with a spoon. My husband loved it but I still thought it a bit tame, so I stirred in a tablespoon of Boursin garlic-herb cheese in my bowl. It pepped it up. I like the recipe as it it simple and uses staples always on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Excellent idea on the oatmeal! I went with 1/3 cup of organic butter, 1 large can of Muir Glen organic crushed tomatoes and about 4 tablespoons of cream right at the end for the soup. Then my main concern was there wasn't enough protein . . . so I took some Gimmee Lean fake sausage, broke it into bits and browned it in a little oil. When the soup was ready I sprinkled the psuedo sausage on top with some reduced fat Cabot cheddar cheese and WAY YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I wasn't sure about this recipe, but I tried it and we all loved it. Even my 14-month-old daughter. I thought I'd need to add some herbs to it, but toasting the oats and pressing the garlic made it really yummy! Surprisingly, I'll be making this again and again. It's a great "desperation" dinner. It only takes about 15 minutes to make. I used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
So I was skeptical when xraybarb (= , did this recipe for my Hidden treasures blog. I'll be the 1st one to tell you, the thought of stewed tomatoes and oatmeal was sort of a put off. And that's the issue at hand. The sound of it. But she called me out and made a great point, about that. So I looked at the recipe again. And decided...since she threw down the "mental thinking" thing. That was it. I was totally sure I had all the ingredients and I did. I didn't put a fine chop on the onions(wished I did), crushed fresh garlic, and did the low cal butter, and the stewed tomatoes I had on hand was italian style(wished it was smaller chunks) and my oats were extra thick rolled oats(don't know if there is a difference) And above all. Good recipe. Seriously good, it's a total 4 in my book, I have to say I think I burnt some of the oats because that was new to me(toasting over the stove). My oldest said it was really really good. I can see me making again. Possibly adding a few veggies or adding the oats in place of barley in other recipes by using the technique in this recipe. Surprisingly, I no longer thing of oatmeal as a sweet dish in a bowl. This opened my eyes. Thanks barb (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This soup is WONDERFUL!!! It is very fast, extremely easy, and has wonderful flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I eliminated the step with butter and onion and used a can of undrained diced tomatoes with onion and garlic instead of the stewed tomatoes. Then I followed the recipe exactly. Very good and easy. The oats also make it very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was good. Probably better than I expected (= I tweaked it just a bit. Rather than dirty two pans, I toasted the oatmeal in the skillet first, then set it aside in a bowl until the end. (I used quick cooking oatmeal, because that was what I had on hand.) Then I used olive oil rather than butter, sauteing the onion first, then adding the garlic when the onion was nearly through (so as to not burn the garlic.) I also added a heaping tbsp of beef bouillon to the soup. I wasn't sure I'd like the"chunks" of tomato in the soup, but I did - though they were rather large coming out of the can, so I broke them up some with my spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States