Oatmeal and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2000
This was a surprisingly good soup, although we were leery of it at first. It was thick and could be a good meal by itself or with a sandwich or some good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
Klutz that I am, I burned the oatmeal during the toasting phase and had to start over with new oatmeal. this recipe is a little bland for me. i ended up doubling the tomato and throwing in some oregano for what was kind of like a florentine stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I eliminated the step with butter and onion and used a can of undrained diced tomatoes with onion and garlic instead of the stewed tomatoes. Then I followed the recipe exactly. Very good and easy. The oats also make it very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I wasn't sure about this recipe, but I tried it and we all loved it. Even my 14-month-old daughter. I thought I'd need to add some herbs to it, but toasting the oats and pressing the garlic made it really yummy! Surprisingly, I'll be making this again and again. It's a great "desperation" dinner. It only takes about 15 minutes to make. I used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Excellent idea on the oatmeal! I went with 1/3 cup of organic butter, 1 large can of Muir Glen organic crushed tomatoes and about 4 tablespoons of cream right at the end for the soup. Then my main concern was there wasn't enough protein . . . so I took some Gimmee Lean fake sausage, broke it into bits and browned it in a little oil. When the soup was ready I sprinkled the psuedo sausage on top with some reduced fat Cabot cheddar cheese and WAY YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This soup is WONDERFUL!!! It is very fast, extremely easy, and has wonderful flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Sorry, this recipe just did not work for us at all. It could have been my fault, however. I only had a can of diced tomatoes instead of the stewed kind so I don't know if that would have made a difference or not. Most everyone else really liked it so it must have just been us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Delicious! I substitued 1% milk for the water, since my family prefers cream of tomato soup. I also added a small can of tomato sauce, basil and oregano. It's a wonderful alternative to canned tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Nice, but a bit bland. I added tabasco and worchestershire sauce and broke up the tomatoes with a spoon. My husband loved it but I still thought it a bit tame, so I stirred in a tablespoon of Boursin garlic-herb cheese in my bowl. It pepped it up. I like the recipe as it it simple and uses staples always on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Way better than I had expected! It was tasty, healthy, filling and relatively easy to prepare. Like other people suggested, I added dried oregano and basil. (I sauteed them with onion, garlic, and margarine.) We are non-vegetarian so I added a cube of chicken bullion instead of salt. I also sprinkled some cheese when I served. Since it was my lazy one dish supper, I even added frozen spinach at the very end of cooking. I am so satisfied and glad that I tried this recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States