Oatmeal and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2000
This was a surprisingly good soup, although we were leery of it at first. It was thick and could be a good meal by itself or with a sandwich or some good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
Klutz that I am, I burned the oatmeal during the toasting phase and had to start over with new oatmeal. this recipe is a little bland for me. i ended up doubling the tomato and throwing in some oregano for what was kind of like a florentine stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I eliminated the step with butter and onion and used a can of undrained diced tomatoes with onion and garlic instead of the stewed tomatoes. Then I followed the recipe exactly. Very good and easy. The oats also make it very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I wasn't sure about this recipe, but I tried it and we all loved it. Even my 14-month-old daughter. I thought I'd need to add some herbs to it, but toasting the oats and pressing the garlic made it really yummy! Surprisingly, I'll be making this again and again. It's a great "desperation" dinner. It only takes about 15 minutes to make. I used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Excellent idea on the oatmeal! I went with 1/3 cup of organic butter, 1 large can of Muir Glen organic crushed tomatoes and about 4 tablespoons of cream right at the end for the soup. Then my main concern was there wasn't enough protein . . . so I took some Gimmee Lean fake sausage, broke it into bits and browned it in a little oil. When the soup was ready I sprinkled the psuedo sausage on top with some reduced fat Cabot cheddar cheese and WAY YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This soup is WONDERFUL!!! It is very fast, extremely easy, and has wonderful flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Sorry, this recipe just did not work for us at all. It could have been my fault, however. I only had a can of diced tomatoes instead of the stewed kind so I don't know if that would have made a difference or not. Most everyone else really liked it so it must have just been us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Delicious! I substitued 1% milk for the water, since my family prefers cream of tomato soup. I also added a small can of tomato sauce, basil and oregano. It's a wonderful alternative to canned tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Nice, but a bit bland. I added tabasco and worchestershire sauce and broke up the tomatoes with a spoon. My husband loved it but I still thought it a bit tame, so I stirred in a tablespoon of Boursin garlic-herb cheese in my bowl. It pepped it up. I like the recipe as it it simple and uses staples always on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Way better than I had expected! It was tasty, healthy, filling and relatively easy to prepare. Like other people suggested, I added dried oregano and basil. (I sauteed them with onion, garlic, and margarine.) We are non-vegetarian so I added a cube of chicken bullion instead of salt. I also sprinkled some cheese when I served. Since it was my lazy one dish supper, I even added frozen spinach at the very end of cooking. I am so satisfied and glad that I tried this recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States