Oatmeal and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sarah Swank
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
i used a can of stewed tomatos (which has some good tomato broth packed with it) and it was REALLY good. I only used about 1/4 of a teaspoon of salt. only 4 stars though because i have tasted better soups for sure. but for the simplicity and way to make something out of a bare cupboard it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! Really quick, filling, and delicious. I had to use diced tomatoes as that's all I had on hand. I replaced the water with milk to make this a creamier soup and added a few shakes of oregano to give it some more flavor. The result was absolutely delicious! I will definitely make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Very good soup! I had to substitute petite diced tomatoes for the stewed tomates, because that's what I had on hand. I will definitely make this again, but next time I think I will use vegetable stock instead of water to boost the flavor a bit, lessening the need for too much salt. Thanks for a quick, inexpensive, HEALTHY recipe! UPDATE - I had leftovers of the soup for lunch today and, although the oatmeal soaked up quite a bit of the liquid, it's not soggy. I'm VERY pleased with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very good! Next time I will add veggies and beef. I bet that will be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was really good and filling. I added loads of herbs and spices, and used veggie broth instead of water. This is an excellent base for a yummy, healthy, cheap, and quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I would not recommend this recipe. It has good flavor but too much of a tomato taste for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Yum! I really enjoyed this. It was filling and tasty after I added a tsp or so of dried thyme. I used mostly oats, but also threw in some spelt flakes. I put this in the fridge & ate in the next day, and I'm glad I did--the oats soaked up lots of the liquid overnight & gave the soup a much thicker texture, which I really enjoyed. Great with whole grain crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
My family tried it and none of us wanted to finish our bowls. It was very bland and had an odd texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This is sooo much better than any canned soup you can imagine. The oatmeal was a plesant deveation from the "tried and true" We loved and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I never would have made this except I read a favorable review in the latest reviews. As another reviewer did, I added some milk and herbs. The end result was okay, but the appearance was most unattractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States