Oatmeal and Everything Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I liked these, but my coworkers LOVED them. I also found that doubling the oatmeal mixture worked much better for me. I live overseas, so I have to make my own caramel as wrapped caramel squares aren't available here. That makes this recipe more effort than I usually want to expend, but as my coworkers love to request this recipe, I make it every couple of months. I've tried making it with less butter in the crust, but then I get a weird, gritty texture. I haven't found a butter ratio that I'm really thrilled with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
super sweet. I added walnuts, but they'd be even better with coconut. The possibilities are really endless... I can see these with dried cranberries and white chocolate chips, too... Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I agree, very good! I started this recipe and then found out I had used all my oatmeal when I made granola last week. So I used the granola in place of the oatameal. It turned out even better I think becausee of the coconut, vanilla and cinnamon in the granola. I'll be saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was good. We added nuts to ours and liked it. Highly recommend letting it cool completely or it is very mushy and not that great. Once set, it tasted like a giant cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
The taste was awesome but I too had a problem with it being very gooey. I tried the hint about baking the bottom for 12 minutes first, but it still came out too gooey to actually cut into bars. However, we will eat it, even if we have to use a spoon! I have it in the refrigerator now, hoping that I will be able to cut it when it's cold, but not too sure. I probably won't make this again because of the messiness of the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orwell, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
very yummy. but had no texture, maybe a longer cooking time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I made these and they seemed to be missing maybe an egg. The recipe also says makes 3 dozen! In a 11x7 pan? These bars taste good but they aren't bars more like a blop. Would be good on vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
added in skor bits and milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet...This is the one dessert I get the most requests for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
My grandmother used to make this on special occasions and all the grandchildren looked forward to it. We never had a name for it so the grandkids called it "Marcy" bars (after a combination of names of grandchildren, Mark and Tracey). Since her passing, I received her handwritten recipe and now make them for all family and neighborhood occasions. As others stated, I baked the bottom crust for about 8 minutes (or until slightly brown) and 1/2 up the recipe. I also microwave a jar of Mrs. Richardson's butterscotch caramel topping to soften and mixed with 2 TBLS of flour, add chips and then bake again. If you prefer less caramel, you can adjust to taste. Same with the layer of chocolate chips. I always make a 9 x 13 pan because they always go so quickly. I made these for my son's school theater program and they were the first to go (and I made 3 pans!!). So easy and so good. I may try this with using dried fruit, a little less caramel and whole wheat flour for a little healthier but still fun and sweet children's snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marissa
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Awsome!! I made this twice and the first time I used ingredients as stated and they were good. But the second time I used the "chewy caramel" from this site and they were awsome! I also followed another reviewer's advice to bake the bottom first and then add toppings and 1/3 of batter on top and bake again. We liked this way much better, there is a little more texture to the bottom that way. This will become a definite staple goodie recipe in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States