Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Tasted good but were heavy. I thought I would pop after eating 2 of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
. I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose to add fiber, and used 2 egg whites instead of whole eggs and it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Who says a pancake has to be fluffy? These are wonderful. The batter is VERY thick and you have to kind of spread it in the pan. They are heavy...but that works for us. Two regular pancakes and I'm hungry by 10 a.m. Two of these and I was full to noon! Yummy too! My 10 yr old son ate two of them on top of his breakfast cereal. We will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
These pancakes are great! They are my kids favorite. They are thick and filling. I make the batter the night before and stick it in the refridgerator. They cook up great the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This was just ok. Of course, I didn't have any sour cream, so that would probably make a difference. But it was pretty good with rhubarb sauce, and it was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shealuna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
These were not that great, pretty bland and I even used sweetened applesauce. I had to add an extra 1/3 cup milk and they were still really thick and hearty. Not sure I'd bother with these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
The ingredient proportions are good except I did add some water to thin the batter a bit. These were fabulously fluffy light pancakes and so healthy! I even subbed all the flour for whole wheat! I've never made a w.w. pancake this fluffy before. I did add a little extra of the soda and powder. I didn't have sour cream so used a 6 oz. container of f.f. blackberry yogurt I had hanging around. I love the fact that this is high in fiber and very low fat...no butter or oil. Sprayed the pan with Pam and used butter spray and some honey on top! Filled me up on this rainy morning. Wonderful recipe and great with the whole wheat flour in lieu of all-purpose. If one doesn't like the batter that thick(it was more like a bread or muffin batter), just thin it with some water or milk to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Very tasty, hearty pancakes! I didn't have any regular oatmeal, so I subbed 2 packets of low sugar apple cinnamon instant oatmeal. The packets had chunks of dried apples in them that were really good in the pancakes. To compensate for the extra oatmeal, I upped the milk to 1/2 cup. These are heavy pancakes and the batter is thick. You will need to make sure that you cook them on medium heat to make sure they get done in the middle. I browned mine nicely on both sides, but still had a few with 'raw' middles'. I tossed them back into the skillet on low heat and finished cooking them through. My toddler asked for seconds on them - so I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
These were really good--I liked the thickness and heartiness. They were, however, a little bland (and I prefer a sweeter pancake), so I added some Splenda and a pinch of salt. Next time will try with walnuts and/or almonds, and probably some diced apple. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
These were delicious! I also added some Splenda & upped the cinn to 1 tsp. I used oat flour for the oats & increased the milk to 1/2 cup. I used light sour cream (all I had) & it worked fine. These were thick & hearty. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States