Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Pretty good. Not the best pancakes I have had but they're decent. Maybe add fresh cut apple chunks next time or a little brown sugar. It was definitely missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I'll stick with the "old fashioned" recipes. These did not seem "done" to me, no matter how long I cooked or how thin I made the batter. Too bad, the recipe was intriguing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
These were great. I made them less healthy by adding sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I have tried a lot of pancake recipes, and this one is so for my fav. Loved everything about it. The only thing I added was chocolate chips. Pancakes are not pancakes without chocolate chips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brakerme

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I have a one year old whom I try to fix healthy meals for. This one sounded wonderful. I did modify mine a little. I used 1 packet of maple and brown sugar instant oatmeal in place of the quick cooking oats (not so healthy I suppose), 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp cinnamon (we LOVE cinnamon and would add more next time), and 2 tsps vanilla (LOVE this too). They were wonderful!! They smelled fantastic while they were on the griddle! I set my electric griddle at around 325 and they had to cook for quite a while so they weren't doughy. They were still moist from the applesauce, but perfectly so! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THESE!! Will definitely make again and maybe try other instant oatmeal packets to change up the flavor. BTW, this made 11 for me, using 1/4 cup batter for each. My little one ate 2 whole pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Not bad. Not great. No sugar or salt are called for in this recipe, which I didn't really even realize until I sat down to eat them. Pretty noticeable! We wound up using salted butter (which we wouldn't normally add butter to our pancakes) and using a few extra squirts of pancake syrup. I did add a bit more milk to mine to thin out the batter as I hate super thick pancake batter (harder for me to judge doneness accurately) but that was an easy fix for preference only. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These are wonderful pancakes. Very filling, nutritious, and flavorful. Thank you, thank you, thank you! They were a huge hit with the kids. This morning I ran out of applesauce so I use apple butter for 1/2 c. WOW - did that go over well. Im sure that killed some of the nutritional value but that was YUMMY! I also used stone cut oats instead of quick cooking oaks and they were still soft and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
might want to cook these on a lower setting than usual to ensure the inside cooks before the outside burns..they seem to take longer than regular pancakes. mine we a little doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Not bad - just won't be my "go to" recipe for pancakes. We all agreed that a plain old pancake with some wild Maine blueberries tossed in the batter is far better than these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Delicious! My 21 month old picky-eater ate a entire pancake. I didn't have any sour cream so based on other reviews, I used a cup of buttermilk (1tbsp lemonjuice + 1cup milk) instead. Added a tbsp of sugar and increased baking powder to 1.5 tsp. Oh and a 1/2 tsp of salt and a 1/2 cup of raisins. Definitely a keeper! I used a non-stick fying pan, so didn't need to use any oil either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States