Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I thought they tasted okay, but it took forever for them to cook on low heat so they wouldn't burn. My husband, 2 year old and 10.5 month enjoyed them, so it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
as per other reviewers' suggestions, I added 1 tbsp. brown sugar because we like our pancakes sweet-ish. I also accidentally added a 1/2 cup of oatmeal instead of the 1/3 cup, but it still tasted really great (I just added some extra milk so it wasn't super thick). It does take some patience to cook though - had to spread out the batter on the pan and cook on medium-low heat. Would make again when I have time, perhaps with some fruit chunks (i.e. apple/banana/blueberry) added in too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Happy we tried but won't be making it again. The pancakes tasted good but the texture wasn't right. Some people described the pancakes as fluffy... we describe them as uncooked (no matter how long we cooked them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I love oatmeal and I love applesauce so I couldn't wait to try these but I thought they were very bland. Granted, I did not have sour cream so I substituted 1/2 c light vanilla yogurt and also added extra cinn, but still very bland. FYI - they are also very dense and take a while to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I made these pancakes this morning and they were not very good at all. My family could barely finish one. These took along time to cook. But they never did seem to get cooked all the way through. I would never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good. Used half whole wheat flour half all purpose also add blueberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Just made these for supper tonight and our family of 4 gave it 8 thumbs up! As other readers suggested, I thinned the batter a little with some extra skim milk and I used 1/2 all-purpose and 1/2 whole wheat flour. This will be in regular roatation at our table and I don't think I'll ever buy packaged pancake mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is the first review I've written, and I've used dozens of this website's recipes! These were soooo good! I didn't have sour cream, so just added more milk (we use soy) to get the consistency I wanted. I have three very picky toddlers, and they loved them - could not get enough! And I like the fact that they are healthy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Triplet Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Am giving five stars because our grandchild asked for them again today after eating yesterday! Cut in half and used whole grain flour in place of all purpose and plain yogurt in place of sour cream. Also ground up the oatmeal in the mini food processor. Because used whole egg in half the recipe, did not add milk, as it was moist enough. Also used all the cinnamon, baking powder and soda and added nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Seems like everyone who liked this recipe added lots of different things it didn't call for. I did not really like the taste and the pancake was way too gooey. I tried cooking it for longer on a lower heat and it still was too wet in the middle. I will not make these again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States