Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
These pancakes are great! My only substitutions were whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose flour since I had it on hand, and plain yogurt for the sour cream because that's what I had. I liked that the batter was thick; used a 1/4 cup disher to scoop up and also pat down/spread out the batter. Since there is no sugar added to the pancakes, I used pomegranate jelly as a topping and thought they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Super thick. I added more water to get a better pancake texture but they were delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These are very tasty, hearty, filling pancakes. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Great. Very filling. Did find them to be a bit bland. Next time I'll increase the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg and maybe try adding some chopped apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Good thing that they're good for you...cause they were kind of bland. Nothing a little peanut butter and syrup didn't fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These were excellent. I used cinnamon applesauce since that's what I had on hand. I also used multigrain flour. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Great! Don't make the pancakes too big or they will fall apart as you try to turn them. They stay nice and moist inside though! I took the advice of the other posters and use 2/3 oats, 2/3 whole wheat flour (blended the oats a little bit) and used a little extra milk to thin the batter. Forgot the vanilla by accident! But it was great. Added a chopped apple too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littlerock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I gave them 3 stars but my other half and son gave them 4start - they really liked them. For me, it was the the taste. I don't have a sweet thooth and even I found these really lacking some sweetness. Maybe sweetened applesauce would have been better. Don't think I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I added one tablespoon sugar and doubled the amount of cinnamon called for and still found these to be rather bland. They also took forever and a day to cook. I don't have a griddle so used a couple frying pans, Don't know if that was part of the problem, but it took close to a half hour and some were still mushy and raw-tasting in the middle. Definitely not worth the hassle in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States