Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I didn't have applesauce, used a 6 oz. container of Tillamook peach yogurt and added enough milk to make the consistency of thick pancake batter. These were very popular with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These pancakes are AWESOME! My wife, who doesn't EVER eat pancakes without syrup, enjoyed them plain as day! I did make a couple of minor modifications. I used 3/4 tsp. of cinnamon instead of 1/2, whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, and added about a 1/2 c. of Splenda to sweeten them up. SOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great recipe for waffles! I did add a little extra baking powder, baking soda and a little more milk as one of the reviews suggested. I did use a tropical yogurt that tasted like Pina colada instead of the sour cream. They tasted amazing! My Niece & Nephew said they were the best waffles they ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loving Mama to two fur babies

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I used the recipe to make waffles. It worked very well, but the dough was too stiff, so I increased the milk to 1/2c (it was almond milk in my case). I also used greek nonfat yougurt instead of the sour cream. I cooked pancakes too. It works just as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These are extremely hearty pancakes. The batter is very thick and I had to spoon it around to make it spread. As a result, they take a little longer to cook than other pancakes. I didn't have milk so subbed apple juice instead, but it didn't thin it out or change anything that I could tell. These are good topped with cooked apples--I made the Toasted Apple-Pecan Brie Sandwiches from here yesterday and didn't use all the topping, and it was pretty good on top of these pancakes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was excited to find a "heathly" pancake, but my 4 yr old and hubby were not fans of them at all. I thought they tasted fine and my 2 yr old was fine with them...I did food process the oatmeal to make a smoother texture. I would omit the cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
So disappointing. They were uncooked in the middle, even after cooking for a long time. We had to slice them in half and cook them again! WE dubbed them "refried pancakes."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I kinda hodge podged this recipe since I only had half a cup of sweetened applesause. I reduced the sour cream to 1/3 cup and added an additional 1/4 tsp vanilla plus 3 tbsp of milk since the batter was really thick. The pancakes turned out amazing!! Next time I hope to get crazy and try whole wheat flower and have the right amount of apple sauce. My 19 mo son loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very good. To feed 6 with good appetites, double the recipe. As a variation, cut the applesauce by half, add one diced apple, and add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Yep, the batter looks 'interesting' but there is no better apple pancake. Delicious AND nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States