Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
great healthy pancakes that the whole family loves even when whole wheat flour is used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These pancakes have some incredible flavor. I did make a few changes though, and they turned out wonderful. They weren't too thick and were nice and fluffy. First I substituted the all purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour, just to make them more healthy. Next I added 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of salt. And lastly I used 1/2 cup of buttermilk instead of the sour cream. They were delicious! Thanks for the recipe. It will be a new staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was really good with a few changes. I added one chopped apple, some chopped walnuts, a tablespoon of sugar and an extra dash of cinnamon. I could see adding a little bit of salt next time too to balance the sweetness. Overall very good, family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were pretty good for how healthy they sound, my whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I doubled this recipe. I ground my oats down in the mini food processor before using them in this recipe. I used whole wheat white flour, homemade applesauce and buttermilk instead of regular milk. These turned out well for me, though I wish they were a little fluffier. Next time, I think I'd add more baking powder--that's not a huge deal. We like a heartier pancake so we liked how filling they are. The flavor of them is really quite good. I topped them with my homemade "jam" (as in my jam didn't set up and I now have four pints of berry topping) and we loved it, especially my oldest. I think this would be good, too, if you were to sub plain yogurt in place of the sour cream, too. I might do that next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is very unique I never had tried it and after reading the reviews. I took a chance and made it. Was every good. Even after they are cold can be good to snack on if you have any extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I didn't have applesauce, used a 6 oz. container of Tillamook peach yogurt and added enough milk to make the consistency of thick pancake batter. These were very popular with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These pancakes are AWESOME! My wife, who doesn't EVER eat pancakes without syrup, enjoyed them plain as day! I did make a couple of minor modifications. I used 3/4 tsp. of cinnamon instead of 1/2, whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, and added about a 1/2 c. of Splenda to sweeten them up. SOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great recipe for waffles! I did add a little extra baking powder, baking soda and a little more milk as one of the reviews suggested. I did use a tropical yogurt that tasted like Pina colada instead of the sour cream. They tasted amazing! My Niece & Nephew said they were the best waffles they ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loving Mama to two fur babies

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I used the recipe to make waffles. It worked very well, but the dough was too stiff, so I increased the milk to 1/2c (it was almond milk in my case). I also used greek nonfat yougurt instead of the sour cream. I cooked pancakes too. It works just as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States