Oatie Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I am surprised that this recipe hasn't gotten rave reviews! Whenever I make it I get people who say, "That's an insanely good cookie." I don't grind all the oats into oat flour; I only do 1/2 ground, 1/2 whole. I also add a cup of lightly chopped Rice Chex. If I have a nut-averse crowd, I used more Rice Chex. (Also, I use an ice cream scoop for dropping the cookies onto the pan. The size, I think, affects how chewy or dry the cookie will be. Ice cream scoop size makes for a good sized, chewy cookie.) Yummy and reliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bwilms
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Great cookies - they will become a regular. I added 1/4 cup of ungrounded oats just because I like a chewy, whole oat every once in a while :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe makes the best chocolate chip cookies! I took the advice of the previous reviewer and ground only half of the oatmeal to flour. This is the first chocolate chip cookie recipe I've made in quite a while that turned out perfectly consistent cookies... Still chewy, not DRY and crumbly.... Even down to the last cookie in jar! I made the large batch as given and they didn't even last our family a week. Look forward to trying the freezing suggestion. Thank you SO much for this wonderful recipe. Your graciousness will be cherished by our family for life. (recipe may just make it in to our holiday festivities in the form of a stocking stuffer ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This recipe is so good. My husband loved it and asked me to make more. I cut the recipe way down just to try it out. He was like "where is the rest?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corinth, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
AWESOME!!! I didn't completely process the oats to flour, left a little texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
These were GREAT! Easy to make and hard to stop eating. I altered the recipe just a tad by using 1 cup of white chocolate chips and 1 cup of semi sweets. I will make these any time someone wants chocolate chip cookies. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The perfect cookie....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I've been making this cookie for a long time now, it's one of my fiance's favourites! The only things I do different are I only use 1 1/2 cups of the oat flour and leave out the nuts. I also add 2 tbsp of milk and 1 to 2 cups unground oats (depending on how I'm feeling ;). This makes the cookies keep their shape better, but keeps them chewy. The dough is hard to mix together, so I just use my hands for that instead of a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
i used crisco in place of the butter (all i had) and i ended up using way less white sugar then the recipe called for (i ran out)and added a little extra brown sugar to make up for it. my 3 year old said these were the best cookies ever. these were good but mine didnt spread, prolly my fault. but very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These are just like my grandma's oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. Followed the recipe, but I also only processed half the oats and left other half whole. Omitted the nuts. I used an ice cream scoop to make extra large cookies and baked them for about 8 min. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States