Oatie Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I made these without the nuts. The only problem I had was due to the oat flour, which made the dough really stiff and hard to work with. Otherwise, both my husband and I really enjoyed them - a good cookie, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I am surprised that this recipe hasn't gotten rave reviews! Whenever I make it I get people who say, "That's an insanely good cookie." I don't grind all the oats into oat flour; I only do 1/2 ground, 1/2 whole. I also add a cup of lightly chopped Rice Chex. If I have a nut-averse crowd, I used more Rice Chex. (Also, I use an ice cream scoop for dropping the cookies onto the pan. The size, I think, affects how chewy or dry the cookie will be. Ice cream scoop size makes for a good sized, chewy cookie.) Yummy and reliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I would have given it 5 stars, but there wasn't nearly enough grundle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bwilms
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Great cookies - they will become a regular. I added 1/4 cup of ungrounded oats just because I like a chewy, whole oat every once in a while :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe makes the best chocolate chip cookies! I took the advice of the previous reviewer and ground only half of the oatmeal to flour. This is the first chocolate chip cookie recipe I've made in quite a while that turned out perfectly consistent cookies... Still chewy, not DRY and crumbly.... Even down to the last cookie in jar! I made the large batch as given and they didn't even last our family a week. Look forward to trying the freezing suggestion. Thank you SO much for this wonderful recipe. Your graciousness will be cherished by our family for life. (recipe may just make it in to our holiday festivities in the form of a stocking stuffer ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I absolutely loved the dough for these! The cookies were pretty good too. I did add plain m&m's in place of the choc. chips. I just like them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This recipe is so good. My husband loved it and asked me to make more. I cut the recipe way down just to try it out. He was like "where is the rest?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corinth, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
AWESOME!!! I didn't completely process the oats to flour, left a little texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
These were GREAT! Easy to make and hard to stop eating. I altered the recipe just a tad by using 1 cup of white chocolate chips and 1 cup of semi sweets. I will make these any time someone wants chocolate chip cookies. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
These were very tasty- I got 42 cookies out of the recipe. My only complaint is that they spread out quite a bit when cooking, which led to a thinner cookie. I tried to refrigerate the batter in between batches, but it didn't make a noticable difference. I also baked them on parchment paper. Next time I may substitute Butter-Flavored Crisco, as I prefer the plumper cookies made when using shortening. This recipe was still very tasty and chewy. I will make it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States