Oatie Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Great cookie! I made these exactly as the recipe directs, opting out of the trend to process only half the oats as many reviewers appear to be doing. This is a substantial cookie, full of rustic texture, but still chewy. I used 1/4 cup ice cream scoop mounds, flattened them slightly, and baked them about 10 minutes. The only thing I'll change next time I make these is toast the pecans first, but this is no criticism of the recipe, which is perfect as is. Not only are these delicious (a great GUY cookie!) but they're beautiful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I would have given it 5 stars, but there wasn't nearly enough grundle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe makes the best chocolate chip cookies! I took the advice of the previous reviewer and ground only half of the oatmeal to flour. This is the first chocolate chip cookie recipe I've made in quite a while that turned out perfectly consistent cookies... Still chewy, not DRY and crumbly.... Even down to the last cookie in jar! I made the large batch as given and they didn't even last our family a week. Look forward to trying the freezing suggestion. Thank you SO much for this wonderful recipe. Your graciousness will be cherished by our family for life. (recipe may just make it in to our holiday festivities in the form of a stocking stuffer ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I am surprised that this recipe hasn't gotten rave reviews! Whenever I make it I get people who say, "That's an insanely good cookie." I don't grind all the oats into oat flour; I only do 1/2 ground, 1/2 whole. I also add a cup of lightly chopped Rice Chex. If I have a nut-averse crowd, I used more Rice Chex. (Also, I use an ice cream scoop for dropping the cookies onto the pan. The size, I think, affects how chewy or dry the cookie will be. Ice cream scoop size makes for a good sized, chewy cookie.) Yummy and reliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These are just like my grandma's oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. Followed the recipe, but I also only processed half the oats and left other half whole. Omitted the nuts. I used an ice cream scoop to make extra large cookies and baked them for about 8 min. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Pretty darn good. Though I was a little short on the oats, cut both sugars to 3/4 cup, used Butter flavor Crisco, had walnuts instead of pecans, and added in some Heath Toffee Bits (needed to use up the bag!). DH was even suckin' these down, and he "hates" nuts.... Yeah, right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The perfect cookie....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very good cookies, and I am only giving it less than five stars because it was a bit too sweet for my taste. If you love super sweet cookies, then these are for you! I will make these again for sure, but I will decrease the sugar to 3/4 C of each next time. But this time around, I followed the advice of other reviewers and only processed have of the oats, leaving the rest whole. I used an even mixture of semi-sweet and white chips for this, and added dried cherries in place of the nuts, since my hubby and son both have allergies to nuts. I also took the ice-cream scoop tip from another and the recipe made 24 HUGE cookies! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I made these without the nuts. The only problem I had was due to the oat flour, which made the dough really stiff and hard to work with. Otherwise, both my husband and I really enjoyed them - a good cookie, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Very good cookie. I made half the recipe which yielded 32 medium size cookies. Cooking time was right on, perfect at 10 minutes. I brought these to a party and got several compliments. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States