Oatie Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very good cookies, and I am only giving it less than five stars because it was a bit too sweet for my taste. If you love super sweet cookies, then these are for you! I will make these again for sure, but I will decrease the sugar to 3/4 C of each next time. But this time around, I followed the advice of other reviewers and only processed have of the oats, leaving the rest whole. I used an even mixture of semi-sweet and white chips for this, and added dried cherries in place of the nuts, since my hubby and son both have allergies to nuts. I also took the ice-cream scoop tip from another and the recipe made 24 HUGE cookies! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
These were very tasty- I got 42 cookies out of the recipe. My only complaint is that they spread out quite a bit when cooking, which led to a thinner cookie. I tried to refrigerate the batter in between batches, but it didn't make a noticable difference. I also baked them on parchment paper. Next time I may substitute Butter-Flavored Crisco, as I prefer the plumper cookies made when using shortening. This recipe was still very tasty and chewy. I will make it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
These were GREAT! Easy to make and hard to stop eating. I altered the recipe just a tad by using 1 cup of white chocolate chips and 1 cup of semi sweets. I will make these any time someone wants chocolate chip cookies. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
AWESOME!!! I didn't completely process the oats to flour, left a little texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This recipe is so good. My husband loved it and asked me to make more. I cut the recipe way down just to try it out. He was like "where is the rest?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corinth, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I absolutely loved the dough for these! The cookies were pretty good too. I did add plain m&m's in place of the choc. chips. I just like them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe makes the best chocolate chip cookies! I took the advice of the previous reviewer and ground only half of the oatmeal to flour. This is the first chocolate chip cookie recipe I've made in quite a while that turned out perfectly consistent cookies... Still chewy, not DRY and crumbly.... Even down to the last cookie in jar! I made the large batch as given and they didn't even last our family a week. Look forward to trying the freezing suggestion. Thank you SO much for this wonderful recipe. Your graciousness will be cherished by our family for life. (recipe may just make it in to our holiday festivities in the form of a stocking stuffer ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bwilms
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Great cookies - they will become a regular. I added 1/4 cup of ungrounded oats just because I like a chewy, whole oat every once in a while :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I would have given it 5 stars, but there wasn't nearly enough grundle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I am surprised that this recipe hasn't gotten rave reviews! Whenever I make it I get people who say, "That's an insanely good cookie." I don't grind all the oats into oat flour; I only do 1/2 ground, 1/2 whole. I also add a cup of lightly chopped Rice Chex. If I have a nut-averse crowd, I used more Rice Chex. (Also, I use an ice cream scoop for dropping the cookies onto the pan. The size, I think, affects how chewy or dry the cookie will be. Ice cream scoop size makes for a good sized, chewy cookie.) Yummy and reliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States