Oat Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Followed this recipe with little variation: used all wheat flour (about 4 cups) instead of adding white and added 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten as suggested by another review. Didn't grind the oats, but used quick oats and let them soak in the warm milk for 5-10 minutes before proceeding. Used a scant tablespoon of saf-instant yeast and got a great rise in just an hour for the first and 30 minutes for the second rise! Made 2 small 8x4 loaves--perfect for little mouths. This bread is not sweet, but served it up with Brian Perspect's "Homemade Butter" from this website, and the kids devoured it! Love the density--not like fluffy store bread that leaves you starving after 3 slices! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is my recipe...though named differently by the allrecipes crew. Just so you know...I always grind the oatmeal into a 'flour' before adding, there are no 'chunks' in this bread. Also, all recipes states this should be put into 2 loaf pans...not so. If you have used 2 cups of milk...then this should go in one large loaf pan. This big loaf really should be crusty on the outside and soft and moist on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsisterl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this bread because it was simple and needed very little yeast. It is the third whole wheat recipe I have tried and it is absolutely incredible! I just tasted a piece fresh from the oven and I was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I tried this bread and love it. It is dense but with 2 1/2 cups wheat flour and oatmeal that is to be expected. My loaves are in a zip lock bag, they are moist and delicious. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
A few have mentioned having trouble with this loaf rising - I added 1tbsp vital wheat gluten for each cup of flour in the recipe, which is something I often add because I use 100% whole wheat (no white/all-purpose) flour. I found that the loaf rose VERY well for me. I should also note that I added 1 cup of oats, ground up, rather than 1/2 because the oats just smelled so good I couldn't help myself :P ...No other changes. This turned out -AMAZING-. I love oats...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This is DELICIOUS bread! I ground the oatmeal into a 'flour' like you said. As toast with butter and jam, MMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I followed the advice of Faiora and doubled the oats (ground into powder with a coffee grinder) and added 1 Tbsp wheat gluten per cup of flour. I must have had bad yeast because I couldn't get it to rise. I ended up making tortillas and loved them. I'm trying again with rapid rise yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This worked out very well for me. It is obviously a little denser than white bread, but overall for as much whole wheat as it has, it is lighter than I expected. And I used only one cup of all-purpose (used one cup of white whole wheat flour for the other). Ground the oatmeal in a coffee grinder--thanks, other reviewers for this tip! Omitted the sugar and used 2 tbsp honey and 1 tbsp molasses to sweeten. If you want a nice texture in this loaf, be sure you knead well--for the FULL 8 minutes, as this activates the gluten. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Sensational! The loaf disappeared within a day, and I can't wait to make this for my mother-in-law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I had no problem with this dough rising; I believe part of this is due to the fact that I used bread flour in place of all-purpose flour. The increased protein (gluten) in bread flour allows for the increased elasticity that yeast creates when rising. If you want your bread dough to rise properly, you must include added gluten- some reviewers added vital wheat gluten, which will also work. I found this bread absolutely delicious and very similar to a loaf my great-grandmother used to make. Definitely making again... and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chqsummerbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States