Oat Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is my recipe...though named differently by the allrecipes crew. Just so you know...I always grind the oatmeal into a 'flour' before adding, there are no 'chunks' in this bread. Also, all recipes states this should be put into 2 loaf pans...not so. If you have used 2 cups of milk...then this should go in one large loaf pan. This big loaf really should be crusty on the outside and soft and moist on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsisterl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I had no problem with this dough rising; I believe part of this is due to the fact that I used bread flour in place of all-purpose flour. The increased protein (gluten) in bread flour allows for the increased elasticity that yeast creates when rising. If you want your bread dough to rise properly, you must include added gluten- some reviewers added vital wheat gluten, which will also work. I found this bread absolutely delicious and very similar to a loaf my great-grandmother used to make. Definitely making again... and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chqsummerbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
A few have mentioned having trouble with this loaf rising - I added 1tbsp vital wheat gluten for each cup of flour in the recipe, which is something I often add because I use 100% whole wheat (no white/all-purpose) flour. I found that the loaf rose VERY well for me. I should also note that I added 1 cup of oats, ground up, rather than 1/2 because the oats just smelled so good I couldn't help myself :P ...No other changes. This turned out -AMAZING-. I love oats...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My Danish grandmother made a similar bread with whole wheat, white flour, and barley flour, so this recipe appealed to me. This bread came out very nice, I did make a change to the recipe, I added cooked pearled barley to the dough to make little "barley berries" in the bread. I left the rolled oats whole, not "blendered" into flour, but I liked these interesting textures in the bread. I made two loaves using 8 1/2" x 4 1/2" glass pans. This bread had great texture, stayed soft and moist for the few days it took to eat it, and held together beautifully when sliced for toasting. It did not rise very high when shaped into loaves, which surprised me because it rose very high initially, but good enough. It was heavenly sliced warm from the oven with butter and honey. Be sure to knead this dough very well initially to develop the smooth even texture in the final loaf. I did also melt a little butter over the tops of the loaves when first out of the oven to keep them soft. This was delicious! Some in my house who generally only prefer white breads, loved this hot from the oven, and toasted for breakfast. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was AMAZING! I didn't want to make a large amount of bread since there are only two people in my household, so I halved the recipe. I don't have a candy or insta-read thermometer, so I actually used a regular digital read thermometer to make sure the milk was at the right temperature! I didn't add the wheat gluten (as many other people recommended), but I made sure to knead the dough for the whole 8 minutes to break up the gluten already in the wheat flour. For this reason, I had NO problems with it rising properly. I ended up making two sub-sized rolls with half of this recipe. It is VERY light and fluffy without being sticky, much like what you'd buy in the supermarket! This recipe is a great starting one - you could easily change the type of flour and/or add in other ingredients like sunflower seeds, crushed nuts, fruits, herbs, or anything you like! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
this bread has a great texture and taste. I found that it didnt rise as high as i expected it to. we found it a little heavy similar weight to bannana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
If you're looking for a nice, rising bread, this is not it. I tried it twice with the same results--no rise. Tastes okay, but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I tried this bread and love it. It is dense but with 2 1/2 cups wheat flour and oatmeal that is to be expected. My loaves are in a zip lock bag, they are moist and delicious. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this bread because it was simple and needed very little yeast. It is the third whole wheat recipe I have tried and it is absolutely incredible! I just tasted a piece fresh from the oven and I was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Tasted okay, but too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States