Oat Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Wonderful! Thank you for the recipe! My family likes our bread fresh so I simply halved the recipe and make one loaf. The only substitution I made was with the milk. I used half water and half buttermilk. The acid in the buttermilk helps the bread rise and makes it soft and fluffy. I also heated the milk mixture to 110-always do. Don't know if it makes a difference or not. Tonight I made it again (Last night's loaf is long gone) and just put the ingredients in my bread maker. I removed it from the machine when it had 15 minutes left on the bake cycle-perfect loaf again - in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was AMAZING! I didn't want to make a large amount of bread since there are only two people in my household, so I halved the recipe. I don't have a candy or insta-read thermometer, so I actually used a regular digital read thermometer to make sure the milk was at the right temperature! I didn't add the wheat gluten (as many other people recommended), but I made sure to knead the dough for the whole 8 minutes to break up the gluten already in the wheat flour. For this reason, I had NO problems with it rising properly. I ended up making two sub-sized rolls with half of this recipe. It is VERY light and fluffy without being sticky, much like what you'd buy in the supermarket! This recipe is a great starting one - you could easily change the type of flour and/or add in other ingredients like sunflower seeds, crushed nuts, fruits, herbs, or anything you like! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Tasted okay, but too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I had not made yeast bread in many years, so was delighted when this actually rose! Good taste and texture; good for toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I had no problem with this dough rising; I believe part of this is due to the fact that I used bread flour in place of all-purpose flour. The increased protein (gluten) in bread flour allows for the increased elasticity that yeast creates when rising. If you want your bread dough to rise properly, you must include added gluten- some reviewers added vital wheat gluten, which will also work. I found this bread absolutely delicious and very similar to a loaf my great-grandmother used to make. Definitely making again... and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chqsummerbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
The bread was tasty, but did not rise at all. It was very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Made this bread but cut back on the wheat flour to 2 cups. Added 1 cup of oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Sensational! The loaf disappeared within a day, and I can't wait to make this for my mother-in-law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
wow! i am the worst when it comes to making homemade bread. While it took me a few times to get the milk and yeast right and the dough didn't rise as fast as the recipe says, the bread had a wonderful flavor and came out moist. the one and only thing i did different is to use my kitchenaid mixer to knead the dough (i cut the kneading time in half for it). thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
great idea to add 1 Tbl of vital wheat germ to each cup of flour to have it rise better, like bread machines. It worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taraspantry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States