Oat Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aunt Brebie
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I've made this three times since January, and it's a winner! My entire family loves the bread, which also makes incredibly delicious toast. This is a very hearty, heavy, filling bread. I increased the oats to 1 cup, and decreased to the whole wheat flour to 2 cups, just because I love oats in bread. I followed all of twistedsisterl's suggestions (see most helpful comment)- she submitted the recipe, and she's right. This is definitely 1 loaf of bread, and putting the oats in the food processor for a few seconds results in a great texture in the baked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
The dough just would not rise well. It was also very difficult to knead because it was just too stiff. I doubt I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe to a T and it didn't turn out well at all. Maybe the milk was too hot and killed the yeast, I have no idea. Considering other people had issues with the bread rising I don't really know what to think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
It's definitely a hit here. I had no problems getting the bread to rise. The first loaf disappeared in about 10 minutes. I might have to make this again soon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Haugseng

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great everyday bread. My kids love it. I halve the recipe except for the yeast, place ingredients in the bread machine for prep then bake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
It's dense. If you're looking for a light, fluffy bread this isn't for you. I liked it, would recommend grinding the oatmeal in a blender or coffee grinder as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pawprints
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I have been on a serious bread kick lately and this is the best one I have made. DEEEE-LI-CIOUS!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I have been making bread for over 15 years now, and this is the best one I've ever made! It was gone within an hour because everybody loved it. I'm about to make more now, and will probably make it regularly. I did add some wheat gluten because I always do, and a tablespoon of honey. This would make a perfect base bread. You could add rosemary, garlic and oregano for an Italian seasoned bread. You could add cinnamon, sugar, and vanilla for a breakfast-y bread. The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I made this recipe twice tonight and it turned out wonderful both times. I altered the recipe a little bit. I used non-dairy creamer mixed with the water instead of milk because my family has milk allergies. I used Splenda brown sugar instead of the white sugar because my husband is diabetic. I used oat flour instead of the whole wheat flour because my husband's sugar doesn't spike so bad with oat flour. The recipe worked perfectly. It is so nice to find a bread recipe that works for a family that is so soft and doesn't crumble. The first batch didn't last the evening and so I needed a second batch for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Oregon, USA
Living In: Robertsdale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beachbaby 72
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Best whole wheat bread. I have been baking breads for over thirty years and the texture and ease in preparation gave it five stars. I used water instead of milk and only whole wheat flour and it baked up perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States