Oat Wheat Bread for Bread Maker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Katrina
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
We ground our own oat flour in the Vita Mix for this and used wheat flour for the rest. Plus, like another reviewer suggested, we added a little extra water and a teaspoon of vital wheat gluten. Also, we substituted brown sugar for the white sugar since that's what we had. The result is delicious! I braided the bread just for fun, so it looked truly artisan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The bread did not rise and once the dough baked, it was a crumbled mess. However, the crumbs were very tasty, but it was no way you could call it a loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This recipe was easy and delicious! It helped that I already had all the ingredients. I used the oven to bake the bread instead of the bread machine - still delicious! Made a few extra for the freezer too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I made this under the dough setting but I changed the recipe some. I did 1 cup wheat flour and 1 and half cups bread flour instead of all purpose flour. I them had it raise in the pan before baking it the oven. I brushed the top with a egg white butter mix. It came out great. I put the ingredients in the pan just as I do any bread machine recipe not like it tells you to. I hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Try it twice and twice it turn not good. The bread don't leaving up, it's like a brick. I'll do it in Breadmaker and the second time I try it I put more yeast : same results. I won't try another time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Originaltatie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
We followed the recipe for the most part, but used oat bran instead of oat flour and added an extra 1/4 cup of water. It turned out great! We put the bread machine on 1.5 pound loaf and medium crust. We recommend light crust because, while perfectly fine, it would be even better with a slightly less crispy crust. Also, once the dough ball started we poured in about a tablespoon and a half of honey. Great recipe. Perfect bread for slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Smells heavenly and nice texture. I did have to add at least 1/4 cup more water, however. Not a big deal since I always check the ratio when it's kneading. I also added 1 tbsp. gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My husband made this first, and it turned out as a lump of flour, then I tried it twice with no better result. Maybe there is something wrong with our ingredients, but this is the only bread maker recipe I have tried that has turned out like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I didn't make this in a bread machine. I made rolls for pulled pork with this recipe. I have to say that the bread was delicious, but not what I was looking for as far as pulled pork. I definately will be making this again so I can slice it up and make toast in the morning with it. Fantastic recipe, thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This makes a great soft, chewy bread. No crusty outside here. The oat flour doesn't have its usual nutty flavor in this bread like I expected it to, but it's a good carrier for butter, jelly, deli meat, etc. My bread machine doesn't have a "normal" time setting because it's based on the size and color of loaf (even on the White Bread setting). I chose 1.5 pounds and light crust. Turned out perfect. Thanks also for the tip about substituting oat flour in yeast breads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States