Oat Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a nice waffle recipe. I was lazy and didn't have any oat flour and didn't feel like pulling my food processor out to make some so I instead just put in the one and one fourth cup quick cooking oats into the batter and it worked just fine. I made half plain and half with chocolate chips. Both were crunchy and tasted great. I'll probably be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made these this morning...I warned my bf that they were 'healthy'...but he loved them! Don't expect them to taste like the eggy-sweet waffles that we're all used to, but with that in mind...they're amazing! Mine had chewy spots because I made my own oat flour and it still had some chunks but it didn't matter. I love that these have less than half of the calories of normal waffles....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Other than halving the recipe, I made these exactly as stated. The yield is correct. The oat flavour doesn't stand out, they just taste like a regular waffle-- but with the goodness of extra fibre. I will make these again, but next time I will try doubling the vanilla since I couldn't really taste any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Delicious!! Thank you for a diabetic friendly recipe for waffles. My children and husband are thrilled. The only thing I did different was I beat the egg whites separately and then folded them in at the end. They were light and fluffly and had a great flavor. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I use wheat flour in place of all purpose and I use 1/4 c applesauce for oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is one of the best waffle recipes I've ever tried. They remind me of the kind my grandma used to make- crisp on the outside and airy on the inside. Truly delicious. I ran out of oil & used 2 melted TBS of Smart Balance Spread. Gave a nice buttery taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
These tasted like a very basic waffle to me. Fresh, good texture, subtle taste, and pretty darn healthy, which I love. My kids gobbled them up. We topped with a blueberry sauce (similar to Blueberry Breakfast Sauce on this website, but w/ much less sugar). This will be our standard before school waffle recipe. Easy to prepare dry ingredients the night before, and finish in am in less than 5 min. Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
What a yummy recipe!!! I made these for Father's Day brunch for my hubby and 4 kids. They all LOVED them! The oatmeal really gives the waffles a yummy nutty flavor. The only thing I changed in the recipe was I used regular vegetable oil instead of the canola oil (it was all I had). I turned the waffle iron on pretty high and the waffles were crunchy on the outside and moist and delicious on the inside! They were light and fluffy. I tripled the recipe and froze what we didn't finish for breakfast. They would also be delicious for dessert with strawberries and some fresh whipped cream! This is definitely our new waffle recipe! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I make a batch of these waffles often for my husband and myself. It's a delicious and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Good recipe. Tweaked it a bit and added a dash of nutmeg and some cinnamon and they have the taste of a fresh oatmeal cookie for breakfast. I made oat flour but used regular oatmeal instead of quick oats and the batter was fine and texture of waffle was tender on inside and crispy on the outside. I will be making these again to freeze for a quick breakfast from the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States