Oat Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Very good. I used 1 cup whole wheat PASTRY flour (that's what I had) and made the oat flour as the editor mentioned. I accidentally used 1 T vanilla, but thought it actually was a good accident. I HALVED the oil (used LIGHT OLIVE OIL--has no olive flavor) with no problem. The waffle came out nicely, but not crisp on the outside, so I put it into my toaster oven to crisp. Nice mild flavor, not sweet. To improve, next time I will try with more sugar to give a little more pizzazz. I ate it with a protein shake, so it wasn't adorned with fruit, but totally plain... and the flavor was pretty good. Definitely worth working with and tweaking to your own taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
A good, solid waffle recipe - no complaints! I subbed whole wheat flour, as I didn't want to mess with processing oats into a flour. Not much more to say - just appreciated a healthier recipe option when my bf requested waffles this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These were very good and smelled amazing while cooking. I subbed whole milk for fat-free (I don't believe fat free milk is healthy) and walnut oil for canola (no GMOs in our house). Otherwise followed the recipe exactly (with all organic ingredients), but next time I would sub white whole wheat or spelt flour for the a-p flour. I let the batter rest about 5 min while the waffle iron heated up and the batter got really nicely puffy from the baking powder. We served these with a little butter and real maple syrup and they were delicious. My children devoured them and asked for seconds. Thanks for the recipe, it's definitely a keeper! ETA: made a half recipe of these this morning for my son who is allergic to wheat, diary,corn, and egg. I subbed 1 cup bob's red mill gf flour mix, 3/4 tsp xanthan gum, 1/4 cup egg substitute made from chia gel (1 T chia seeds and 1/4 cup water), 1/2 T organic sugar and 1/4 tsp sea salt (iodized usually contains corn), almond milk, walnut oil, 1/2 tsp raw vanilla powder, and hahn's natural baking powder (made with potato starch rather than gmo cornstarch). He loved them and thought they tasted just like the "real" kind that he remembered. With syrup, they were quite good given all the substitutions made, this recipe is very forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
it was crispy , but I think I'm gonna add more sugar next time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie S.
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I've made this recipe three times now and find them very tasty. The one and only problem I have with them is a minor one and that is that they have a somewhat dry texture. This is easily fixed through the use of a little extra syrup ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I use this as a base for gluten-free waffles and they are fantastic. I put 1.5 cups gluten-free flour mix (rice, tapioca and potato starch), .5 cup almond flour (this gives it a richer flavor and adds protein) and use vanilla almond milk and walnut oil to make a little more healthy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
So easy to make and delicious! Thanks for a great recipe! I'll never buy mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Snowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fall Branch, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Winterville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This will be my go to recipe for waffles from now on!! Light and crispy. I used almond milk - not sure if that made a difference in the texture but these are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
These were wonderful!!! I used whole wheat flour in place of the oat flour (because that's what I had on hand). Topped them with Strawberries and my kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These waffles turned out really good. I replaced white flour with whole wheat white, sugar with stevia, canola oil with olive oil, milk with unsweetened almond milk. I also threw in about 1/4 cup frozen blueberries. I got 6 waffles. I'll be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States