Oat Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
A good, solid waffle recipe - no complaints! I subbed whole wheat flour, as I didn't want to mess with processing oats into a flour. Not much more to say - just appreciated a healthier recipe option when my bf requested waffles this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These were very good and smelled amazing while cooking. I subbed whole milk for fat-free (I don't believe fat free milk is healthy) and walnut oil for canola (no GMOs in our house). Otherwise followed the recipe exactly (with all organic ingredients), but next time I would sub white whole wheat or spelt flour for the a-p flour. I let the batter rest about 5 min while the waffle iron heated up and the batter got really nicely puffy from the baking powder. We served these with a little butter and real maple syrup and they were delicious. My children devoured them and asked for seconds. Thanks for the recipe, it's definitely a keeper! ETA: made a half recipe of these this morning for my son who is allergic to wheat, diary,corn, and egg. I subbed 1 cup bob's red mill gf flour mix, 3/4 tsp xanthan gum, 1/4 cup egg substitute made from chia gel (1 T chia seeds and 1/4 cup water), 1/2 T organic sugar and 1/4 tsp sea salt (iodized usually contains corn), almond milk, walnut oil, 1/2 tsp raw vanilla powder, and hahn's natural baking powder (made with potato starch rather than gmo cornstarch). He loved them and thought they tasted just like the "real" kind that he remembered. With syrup, they were quite good given all the substitutions made, this recipe is very forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
it was crispy , but I think I'm gonna add more sugar next time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie S.
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I've made this recipe three times now and find them very tasty. The one and only problem I have with them is a minor one and that is that they have a somewhat dry texture. This is easily fixed through the use of a little extra syrup ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I use this as a base for gluten-free waffles and they are fantastic. I put 1.5 cups gluten-free flour mix (rice, tapioca and potato starch), .5 cup almond flour (this gives it a richer flavor and adds protein) and use vanilla almond milk and walnut oil to make a little more healthy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
So easy to make and delicious! Thanks for a great recipe! I'll never buy mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very good. I will definitely make these again. I used 1 1/4 cups ground oatmeal as the recipe suggested and added some ground flax. I also made a second batch and added 2 bananas and chocolate chips and it tasted like banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
These were wonderful!!! I used whole wheat flour in place of the oat flour (because that's what I had on hand). Topped them with Strawberries and my kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These waffles turned out really good. I replaced white flour with whole wheat white, sugar with stevia, canola oil with olive oil, milk with unsweetened almond milk. I also threw in about 1/4 cup frozen blueberries. I got 6 waffles. I'll be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States