Oat-N-Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I made this weekend without using the bread machine. I used my kitchen aid instead. The loaf turned out beautiful. I let it rise in a bowl and shaped it after it had risen for at least an hour. The next time I make this I will sprinkle oatmeal on the top to give it a little extra eye appeal. The crust was very soft and the loaf was tasty, especially toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alcester, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I don't have a bread machine but I do have a Kitchen Aid. I warmed the water and buttermilk together until the right temp, then set it to proof the yeast in the mixer bowl for ten minutes. When the yeast was ready, I added the remaining wet ingredients, then all the dry which I'd run a wisk through before slowly adding it into the mixer bowl. I did have to add a couple healthy spoonfuls of flour to the bread dough to get it to come together and jump on the bread hook. I let the hook knead the bread for five minutes, then set it to rise in my largest bowl,which I greased and covered with saran wrap, for an hour. After it doubled, I formed it into a loaf and set it in the loaf pan and covered it again and let it double again. This took about a half hour to bake @350. And the smell was so wonderful, not to mention the taste. I like the texture that the oatmeal lends to the bread and the flavor of the buttermilk with the honey and wheat. This bread is out of this world. I served it with Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup. This recipe's a keeper. NOTE: You don't need a bread machine for most bread recipes. If you have a stand mixer, you can do just about anything you could with a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
This a great tasting bread. I took some to work and shared with a co worker and they loved it! I use buttermilk powder instead of real buttermilk (which I never have on hand), 3 tbsp honey and 3 tbsp olive oil. I set the bread machine for the dough cycle, removed from the pan, kneaded lightly and shaped into a loaf. I let it rise for 30-60 mins before baking for 30 mins at 350 degrees. very delicious! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made this exactly as written and was not disappointed. Loved the addition of the egg, oats and fresh buttermilk. While neither the buttermilk nor the oats were detectable, this is nevertheless a lovely, light wheat bread. Hubs proclaimed it soft and tender for his peanut butter and jelly sandwich, and I found it equally as good for my buttered toast this morning. And the ends will make great bread crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Wonderful! I've been making bread for years and found this to be the best!! Healthy, yet it doesn't taste like lead. I added an extra tablespoon of honey and used regular milk (didn't have buttermilk on hand) and it was fabulous!! I also added 2 tsps of yeast. Thanks!! I love the other wheat bread recipe from the same cook. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
For buttermilk, I have purchased buttermilk powder from the bulk food store. YOu just add water! I cannot tell you how often it has come in handy in baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
My new favourite loaf. Using real buttermilk is essential. The first time I made this I soured regular milk with lemon juice and the bread did not rise as much, but it was still tasty. The honey makes the bread very fragrant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made this bread by hand warming the buttermilk with the water, then adding the yeast, 1/4 cup of honey and 3T olive oil. I kneaded the dough and placed in an bowl oiled with olive oil and covered it with a damp towel. I let it rise for just an hour, punched it down, covered it and let it double again in the loaf pan. The dough rose real high and I was pleased with the way it was turning out. I sprinkled some oats over the top of the bread right before baking it for added texture and appeal. I baked the bread @350 degrees for 35 minutes. The bread smelled sooo wonderful as it baked up. I am very happy with the way the bread turned out! The crust has a little crunch with the oats baked right on top adding a nice texture. It is very moist and soft. The loaf is very tasty and I can taste the hint of honey in each bite-very nice! I love the oats, honey and whole wheat flour in this recipe. The buttermilk is a must because it definitely adds moisture to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
worked nicely, i used soymilk instead of buttermilk too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This bread is delicious!! It is really soft and has a not too thick, not too hard crust. Just a little sweet with a smidgeon of tang from the buttermilk! I only had regular oats (not the quick cooking) and decided to try them and it turned out fine. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States