Oat-N-Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was my first use of the bread machine. Was very skeptical at first. I had it on the regular white bread cycle for 1.5 lg loaf. Two hours later, the smell was great! I didn't have oats on hand, and frankly don't miss them. It's been an hour since it was done, and it has been eaten with butter, and as a GREAT sandwich. My husband was surprised it was wheat, and even LIKED it. Whoa..gotta make this again. Probably tonight! THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBURDICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I used this to make french toast, and it turned out pretty good. I might even add more oatmeal next time. I used lemon juice soured milk as a substitute for buttermilk, and it turned out fine (1T lemon juice per 1 c. milk; mix and let sit a few minutes) --but maybe buttermilk will taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
My new favourite loaf. Using real buttermilk is essential. The first time I made this I soured regular milk with lemon juice and the bread did not rise as much, but it was still tasty. The honey makes the bread very fragrant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Makes very nice dinner buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iqaluit, Nunavut, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This bread is delicious!! It is really soft and has a not too thick, not too hard crust. Just a little sweet with a smidgeon of tang from the buttermilk! I only had regular oats (not the quick cooking) and decided to try them and it turned out fine. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
worked nicely, i used soymilk instead of buttermilk too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Very good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
very easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
VERY good bread. Substituted soy milk for buttermilk and bread flour for all-purpose. Very soft and tasty. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
This a great tasting bread. I took some to work and shared with a co worker and they loved it! I use buttermilk powder instead of real buttermilk (which I never have on hand), 3 tbsp honey and 3 tbsp olive oil. I set the bread machine for the dough cycle, removed from the pan, kneaded lightly and shaped into a loaf. I let it rise for 30-60 mins before baking for 30 mins at 350 degrees. very delicious! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States