Oat-N-Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I changed the servings to 15. Used the dough cycle. Shaped 2 small loaves, and let rise 1 hour. Baked 350 for 35 min. Good rise, texture, flavor, density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HACOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Arrowbear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
My family and I just LOVED this recipe. I will be making this alot! I did follow another reviews advise by adding another tablespoon of honey and adding 1/2 teaspoon more of yeast. The bread turn out so light and wounderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cayce, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This recipe is delicious! I followed the ingredients list exactly with just one extra glop of honey because I love it. I set my machine to the dough setting and when finished kneaded the dough, shaped it roughly into a rectangle, and sprinkled some oats on top for decoration. I let it rise for just over an hour and then baked in my oven at 350 for about 45 minutes. This bread is PERFECT! Light, airy (but not hole-y), and just a bare hint of sweetness. The crust is perfect. I have already eaten several slices with butter and can't wait to try it as a sandwich tomorrow. One thing I didn't expect---this loaf turned out HUGE--almost a little hard to manage. Maybe next time I will put it in a rectangle pan instead of free-standing. There will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
The dough was too wet, more like a batter bread, and didn't rise properly on the 1.5 loaf and wheat cycle. Will try again with more flour, yeast for proper dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
For buttermilk, I have purchased buttermilk powder from the bulk food store. YOu just add water! I cannot tell you how often it has come in handy in baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
The moistest wheat bread I've ever made. Nice texture and holds together well for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Wonderful! I've been making bread for years and found this to be the best!! Healthy, yet it doesn't taste like lead. I added an extra tablespoon of honey and used regular milk (didn't have buttermilk on hand) and it was fabulous!! I also added 2 tsps of yeast. Thanks!! I love the other wheat bread recipe from the same cook. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I made this weekend without using the bread machine. I used my kitchen aid instead. The loaf turned out beautiful. I let it rise in a bowl and shaped it after it had risen for at least an hour. The next time I make this I will sprinkle oatmeal on the top to give it a little extra eye appeal. The crust was very soft and the loaf was tasty, especially toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alcester, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was my first use of the bread machine. Was very skeptical at first. I had it on the regular white bread cycle for 1.5 lg loaf. Two hours later, the smell was great! I didn't have oats on hand, and frankly don't miss them. It's been an hour since it was done, and it has been eaten with butter, and as a GREAT sandwich. My husband was surprised it was wheat, and even LIKED it. Whoa..gotta make this again. Probably tonight! THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBURDICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States