Oat-N-Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This bread turned out great. I don't have a bread machine so these are the ajustments I made. 2 1/4 tsp of dry active yeast (or one package) Mix the dry ingrediants frist then add buttermilk and yeast that has been desolven in water. Kneed untile dough clings to the dough hook and then for 2 min longer. Let rise 1 hour. after one hour roll out and fold into a loaf shape that fits into a loaf pan. let rise 1 hour. cook at 400 for 30 min. The only reason I gave it a 4 and not a 5 is that O really couldn't taste the oats or the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin in cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
THE BEST BREAD I EVER TASTED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This did not rise and turned out gummy and undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Good flavor, but was very dense. Actually, it was more like whole wheat bread with a little bit of oats. I think I had something lighter in mind. Also, my bread machine instructions say to heat the liquid before putting it in the pan. I tried to heat the buttermilk, but it curdled into a mess that strongly resembled cottage cheese! YUK! Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was just OK the flavor was not amazing and it came out very dense, I had to put it in the oven and cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is a reliable bread machine recipe, which I've had a hard time finding. I guess I'm used to heartier breads because I thought this one was a little "light" by comparison to other recipes. It was good though! I'll definitely keep the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is a good, dense bread. The crust always comes out so thick in the bread maker that I think I'll try just making dough next time and bake it in the oven as some others have done. Don't know if that will make a difference or not! But we did like this very much. I added an extra Tbsp of honey and will probably put even one more in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
We enjoyed this tender, flavorful bread with our bacon & tomato sandwiches tonight. I made it manually, baked at 350 for about 30-35 minutes. This will be a repeat recipe at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B Spradley
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I have made this bread more than 10 times now and it comes out great every time. I love it. Everyone always asks me for the recipe, which is always a good sign! I always add a little more flour than the recipe calls for and I use reg. milk soured with a tsp. of lemon juice. Great healthy bread for all your bread needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Makes a really nice loaf with a good texture and light wheat taste. Turns out to be about a 2 pound loaf with ingredients as shown. I adjusted the amounts down to about 1-1/2 pound loaf size, left the yeast amount the same and it turned out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States