Oat-N-Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I like a chewy moist bread but this was too heavy and wet for me. Almost seems like it wasn't quite finished baking. I liked that the oatmeal completely disappears in the dough, but can't taste the honey at all. If i make again, i'll up the honey and use the dark setting to let it bake a while longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monjfr
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I have never been happy with a home made bread like this , I don`t have a bread machine , so I thought it`s not going to work out , but it was a huge surprise . I did`t have butter milk so I used 1 cup of milk + 1 TBS vinegar leaved them for 30 min, and I used more all porpuse flour (1/4 cup or more). the second time I`m going to use 1/4 cup of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Don't be concerned about the oats. We used regular cooking oats and they completely disappeared into the bread. Maybe they turn into flour during the mixing process? This bread was fluffy and delicious and my picky husband loved it. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Wonderful bread! My whole family loved it. Only thing I did differently was I used butter instead of oil (I forgot I was out). This recipe is now on our top ten list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I don't have a bread machine but I do have a Kitchen Aid. I warmed the water and buttermilk together until the right temp, then set it to proof the yeast in the mixer bowl for ten minutes. When the yeast was ready, I added the remaining wet ingredients, then all the dry which I'd run a wisk through before slowly adding it into the mixer bowl. I did have to add a couple healthy spoonfuls of flour to the bread dough to get it to come together and jump on the bread hook. I let the hook knead the bread for five minutes, then set it to rise in my largest bowl,which I greased and covered with saran wrap, for an hour. After it doubled, I formed it into a loaf and set it in the loaf pan and covered it again and let it double again. This took about a half hour to bake @350. And the smell was so wonderful, not to mention the taste. I like the texture that the oatmeal lends to the bread and the flavor of the buttermilk with the honey and wheat. This bread is out of this world. I served it with Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup. This recipe's a keeper. NOTE: You don't need a bread machine for most bread recipes. If you have a stand mixer, you can do just about anything you could with a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made this exactly as written and was not disappointed. Loved the addition of the egg, oats and fresh buttermilk. While neither the buttermilk nor the oats were detectable, this is nevertheless a lovely, light wheat bread. Hubs proclaimed it soft and tender for his peanut butter and jelly sandwich, and I found it equally as good for my buttered toast this morning. And the ends will make great bread crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Yummy bread everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Good recipe. I follow the directions exactly and it always turns out great. It's hubby's favorite bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
So good I've laminated it & have it on my bread machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I gave this recipe only 4 because I had to read the reviews on how to make it without a bread machine. I really HATE when all these bread recipes are posted for machine only! The bread is good. I did use sorgum instead of honey and more of it. Also, more yeast as another reviewer suggested. I will be using this one again. I also used more variety of flours. I used high gluten bread flour instead of all purpouse. Good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States