Oat Crusted Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Delicious recipe. I searched for a simple oatmeal-fried fish recipe and found this after my friend in Scotland told me to use oatmeal to fry my fish instead of cornmeal for a change. I bought some very nice cod fillets and followed recipe exact, the only thing I did different was use Lawrys Garlic-Salt mixed into the oatmeal. Was grand! And much healthier and even better than panko crumbs! I will try this with Rockfish next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I actually found a very similar recipe like this on the allrecipes australia site (I just did a google search for 'low carb fish coating, and that recipe showed up), but it wouldn't let me sign in with my u.s. allrecipes login - so I'm rating this recipe instead since this recipe is the same :) I really like using the oats for the coating - it turned out very nice and crunchy! I did alter the recipe by using Old Bay Seasoning (very tasty mix, if you haven't tried it) instead of salt and pepper, and added it to the oats. Nice knowing it is low in carbs, and tastes great as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Followed this recipe to the T...and it came out terrible...oats were soggy not chruchy...the batter was too heavy for the cod fell right off and tasted doughy ruined the fish...would not use this one again waste of time and money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Very moist dish, but I do not recommend steel cut oats, even if they are "quick."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I used this recipe tonight and its phenomenal. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and seasoned before coating in flour. I seasoned it with Cajun seasoning,followed the instructions and fried it till golden. My boyfriend who dislikes fish ate it up and asked for seconds. I look forward to using this recipe often. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
VERY bland, I tried a few things to spice it up without much luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeymaterial

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This was pretty good. I added a mix of herbs to the flour and topped it with shredded Parmesan cheese. Next time I will chop the oats up a bit (doesn't need much) and maybe mix the cheese into the breading. I'll also try baking it. This would translate well to other fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
As-is it's pretty bland, it definitely needs something added to the breading. This was the first time I've tried coating in flour before egg & breading and it worked much better than everything I've done in the past. I used tilapia and sole filets and served it with a bourbon honey mustard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was awesome- but I made a few changes. In the egg/milk mixture, I added 1/4 cup of pure maple syrup because I wanted a sweet flavor. Instead of cod, I used halibut. To cook, I baked it in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes. I also made a maple syrup/butter drizzle (1/4 cup maple syrup & 1 tablespoon butter) to put over it. Finally, I broiled it for a couple of minutes at the end to make it crispy. It was AMAZING-- my boyfriend said that it was better than the granola-crusted fish from a local restaurant that I was trying to replicate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkoltov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Disappointed in taste; I didn't like how it just tasted like oatmeal and fish. I added tonnes of spices but still the oatmeal taste was most prominent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States