Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
These are AWESOME! Great texture and I love that they aren't too sweet. They are now my breakfast of choice and I know they are helping reduce my cholesterol. If you are into the environment, don't preheat your oven until the muffins are resting in the tins. BTW, I have used as much as 3/4 cup whole wheat flour along with 3/4 AP flour for extra fiber, and the muffins are still tall and fluffy. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Yum! I tweaked to be a cholesterol lowering recipe--egg whites instead of whole eggs, omitted the oil & added 1/2 cup more applesauce, a few Tbsp of fat free greek yogurt and 1 over ripe banana for moistness. Also added walnuts & 2 Tbsp flax seed as both are good for cholesterol + raisins & put dark chocolate chips in some for my boys. Lastly, used whole wheat flour--a combination of other reviews & a few of my own tweaks. Great base recipe!! My whole family loves these truly healthy muffins---thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
It bothers me when people rate without first trying as is but here I go. I loved the basic idea of this and how flexible it is. As others stated, 1tsp. ea. of the b. powder and b. soda worked just fine. I only had wheat bran to work with, but it can be a bit strong in flavor, I added 1/4 c. oldfashioned peanut butter as well as 1/2 c. more applesauce and 2 T. ground flax seed and only 1 T. oil. Also I used all WW flour, hence the extra applesauce. They were great and a big hit with my clients. Thank you for sharing and again my appologies for not trying as is Reply for CHTHONIC who said her muffins were bitter-check for freshness of bran and oil. Bran is very perishable and if old will be rancid.Also WW flour if you used it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I read other's comments carefully and followed suggestions for increasing moisture, decreasing sweetener,salt, and oil. And I used Whole Wheat flour as many did. For sweetener I used 2T xyletol, 2T brown sugar=1/4c total=half of what the recipe says. I left out the salt completely and found it was not missed. With the baking soda and powder it tastes plenty salty. I did not want to cut the leavening given the heaviness of the oat tbran. For eggs, I used double the amt of egg whites instead as I didn't have whole eggs--healthier too. I used the listed amt of applesauce. Many people added 1/2c more applesauce and cut the oil in half. I did not have more applesauce so used plain lowfat kefir (like yogurt) instead-1/2 c. I did not use ANY Oil at all in the recipe. For flavor I used pumpkin pie spice 1t and 1/2t vanilla. Next time I will add walnuts-was out. I followed the suggestion of another poster of combining applesauce with oat bran and let it sit to soften bran, mixing remaining dry and wet ingredients separately, adding wet to oat bran and adding the dry flour mix last. My muffins were lofty, not dense...I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I don't know what I did wrong, this tasted bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Five stars with changes~ We have made these as written, but over time, we have adjusted the recipe to now HALVE the sugar, oil, and leavening (baking powder, soda and salt), and find it more than sufficient. We add 50% more applesauce to replace the missing oil. They rise beautifully, are plenty sweet and salty, and are very versatile for add-ins. We also add spices-- 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and 1 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made only two changes; I used light brown sugar because that was all I had and I used melted butter instead of vegetable oil only because I'm low on oil right now. The applesauce I used was my own homemade applesauce that was seasoned with homemade apple pie spice. To add a little "something", I threw in a half cup of organic raisins that I soaked in hot unsweetened chai for 20 minutes (I drained and patted them dry a bit before doing so). My muffins turned out really moist, perfectly sweet and with me using the spiced applesauce and raisins, that added a really nice touch. The kids loved these. If you don't use a cinnamon-spiced applesauce, I think you should. These muffins need a little oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These were really good muffins. I made some changes to the recipe. I used 1/2 tsp of salt rather than a whole since I am watching the sodium. Used 4 egg whites and a banana. Also used a cup of applesauce-- no oil. Used the 1/2 cup of light brown sugar but threw in some dark chocolate chips in one half of batter and extra golden raisins in the other. I prefer the raisins since it gives it a sweeter taste. Add cinnamon and a bit of pure vanilla and your muffins will be great! This will be great with pumpkin pie spice and pumpkin next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Best bran muffin recipe I've made! I followed the recipe, except I added some ground ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg to the flour mixture and added half an orange's worth of grated orange zest to the egg mixture. The orange zest is a must! The result is not an orange-bran muffin, but just a more complex muffin with some awesome flavor you can't quite figure out. I'm keeping this one forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
If you like coconut, using a quality coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil is a way to add a little more nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by n.schaeffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States