Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by recipes
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I wanted some veggie in there too. I modified somethings as per other reviews. They turned out awesome and tasty! I threw in a couple of chocolate chips too. Oat Bran Muffins 1 ½ cup oat bran 1 cup chilled applesauce 1/2cup carrot puree 1 finely diced apple ¼ cup brown sugar 2 tbsp vegetable oil 1 tbsp vanilla 2 eggs 1cup whole wheat flour ½ cup unbleached white flour 1 tsp baking powder 1 tsp baking soda ¼ tsp salt 1 ½ tsp pumpkin pie spice 1. Combine Apple sauce, carrot puree, oat bran, apples>sit. 2. Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. 3. Whisk brown sugar, oil, eggs, vanilla in a small bowl. 4. Add the brown sugar mix to the oat bran/apple/carrot mix> combine wet mix + dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I added about a Tablespoon of sour cream and some cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves and these were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Those Muffins turned out amazing. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon as suggested. They came out very moist. I might cut down the oil a little though. Thanks for that amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Great recipe! I follow exactly as written but add 1 tsp of vanilla extract just to add a little sweeter flavor. They freeze really great too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I also made some changes - only use 1 tsp of baking powder and baking soda - really helps with the moist factor. I added a little extra surgar as well. I had a little pumpkin puree left over from a soup I made, so instead of apple sauce, I used about 3/4 cups of that and then added a few tablespoons of greek yogurt. The dough seemed a little too stiff, so I added about 4 tbs. of water. And while I was adding pumpkin, why not a tsp of cinnamon? oh - and I too used whole wheat flour. I served them at a brunch with butter - they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I really loved this muffin! I made a few changes from reviewers' comments. I used 1 c AP flour & 1/2 c whole wheat flour, cut the baking powder and baking soda to 1 teaspoon each, & added 2T more canola oil. I used cinnamon applesauce & topped with a little cinnamon sugar before baking. Yummy! Reminds me of the Hostess oat bran muffins ( but way better) from the early 90s that I always ate. Remember those? Thanks for awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Followed the directions to a T. Excellent. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These were truly horrible. I can only get them down with a gulp of very sweet tea. I went by the stars, I now know that I should have read the comments; if it needs a bunch of modification, then I think it doesn't deserve 4 or 5 stars. Th I will try the modifications suggested; add some raisins, lessen the amount of soda and baking powder. I hate to hurt anyone's feelings, but honestly, as the recipe was written it was a waste of ingredients. Please forgive me, I'm actually quite nice, just disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Beckman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
First time making bran muffins. I followed the recipe and added 1/2 tsp vanilla and a little cinnamon. Once I put them in the muffin pan I added some chocolate chips to half. They were surprisingly delicious. Even my 2yr old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Great recipe. My 4 year old loved them. I followed the recipe but changed up a few thing. Instead of applesauce I used sour cream and added 1 cup of oats in replace of 1/2 cup flour and bran. We also added dried cranberries, blueberries and raisins. Love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States