Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
These are quite good. After reading some reviews, I made some modifications. I used wheat bran, not oat bran, since I didn't have any. I used white whole wheat flour, reduced the baking powder and soda to 1.5 tsp each, used 1.5 c applesauce. I also added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp nutmeg. I let the bran soak with the applesauce for quite a while, and added the baking soda and powder and dry ingredients at the end and mixed til combined. I greased the muffin tin with coconut oil. Next time I think I'll add chopped apples or plumped raisins, add some molasses, or use pumpkin instead of applesauce since some juiciness would make them more scrumptious. I also sprinkled the top with cinnamon and sugar. Next time I might sprinkle the top with oats, butter, sugar, and cinnamon. The kids gobbled them up and demanded one in the lunchbox tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Thank you for the great recipe! I had a ton of oat bran laying around, and needed something to do with it! My alterations were kind of based on what I had around, so I'm sorry for all of the changes! They worked alright for me, though, so I thought I'd share: Put eggs, oil (I used corn oil), and 1 tablespoon vanilla extract into blender. Cut up three medium sized apples (I did NOT peel them) and added to blender ingredients. Blended until apple skins were confetti-sized. Added to mixing bowl with dry ingredients (I reduced the baking soda to 1 teaspoon, and omitted salt). Added 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon allspice, and 1/4 teaspoon ginger. I don't have a muffin pan, so I poured it into a regular bread pan (greased) and baked at 325 for an hour. Not bad! Turned out as a muffin-y, fiber-full bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These are so yummy. They work well with King Arthur gluten free all purpose flour too, with no modifications. I tried the raisin addition last time, and am doing blueberries this time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Yum! I subbed a cup of mashed bananas for the applesauce, threw in a little more oil, and used 3 tsp of baking soda as I didn't have any powder. With cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top right before baking they're just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharlieC
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Good starter receipt. I added coconut, a little sugar, vanilla extract, raisins and accidently lemon extract. They came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I've made this recipe with blueberries and also with cranberry/orange. I make a double batch, as we like bigger muffins. I add at least 3 cups of fruit in a double batch. I also add a container of plain, non-fat Greek yogurt, keep the baking powder and baking soda as in the recipe and my muffins are nice and moist. I also use a brown sugar/sucralose blend, egg substitute, and cannola oil to make them more healthy, and sprinkle a bit of turbinado sugar on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Mildly sweet, tasty applesauce bran muffins. Used my own homemade Arkansas Black applesauce and thoroughly enjoyed the resulting muffins. Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Excellent! Best with the addition of soaked raisins, because I made the first batch of these muffins without raisins. They were delicious but a little dry (although, not a problem with lots of butter!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made this with a few variations...used 1/2 cup of honey instead of the brown sugar, substituted high pulp orange juice for applesauce, and added 1/2 c walnuts and 4 oz chopped dates. They are to die for....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
It was great. My husband raved about them. I needed to keep them Gluten Free so I substituted Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Mix for the all- purpose flour and added 3/4 tsp. of xanthan gum. I will definitely be making more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States