Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
These muffins were too dry. We had to microwave them and add butter or jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
These are good as far as the ingredients go. I prefer to use a more traditional quick bread/muffin method: Combine the oat bran and applesauce first, and let them sit together to soften the bran. Combine the eggs, sugar and oil in a small bowl. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add the egg/sugar mixture to the hydrated oat mixture, then quickly combine with the dry ingredients. You'll get more tender muffins with better lift because you're not developing the gluten in the flour, and you get better lift from the baking powder if you don't let it sit after it gets wet. This recipe is almost exactly the same as the one on the Hodgson Mill website and I've been using it for years. It's a good basic recipe. My favorite add-ins are butterscotch chips and chopped walnuts, and a bit of vanilla (add with the egg/sugar mixture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This were a bit dry and bland. I added the vanilla and cinnamon as suggested by others, and i replaced some of the oat bran with oatmeal for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
So good for healthy muffins! I added a half cup of mini chocolate chips and my kids love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
little flavorless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
YUM!!! These are terrific!!! I added dates to mine and they were perfect! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These turned out so satisfyingly muffin-like, I was happy. They look nice, have a great muffin texture, and taste good. I followed the recipe except instead of 2 eggs, I used Ener-G egg replacer (2 teaspoons dissolved in 4 tablespoons warm water) because I don't eat eggs. Oh, and I used wheat bran instead of oat bran and added some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
These are SO GOOD. I followed the advice of others and subbed in some yogurt for the applesauce (about 3/4c apple sauce and I just used a 6oz personal sized plain yogurt.) I also added plumped cranberries in this instead of the suggested alteration of raisins. I love the pockets of sweet/tart. These are AMAZING. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made several alterations to this recipe, but it makes a great base recipe that you can do so much with! I used Splenda in place of the sugar. I used wheat bran instead of oat bran and I used ground oats in place of the flour, and finally, I used mashed bananas in place of the applesauce. I also added a tsp of pumpkin pie spice. They turned out delicious, and only 110 calories each! (before the honey butter, lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
LOVED it. My changes: Since I didn't have applesauce on hand I grated a whole apple into it. I also substituted the all-purpose flour for whole wheat. And to top it off, I also took the advice to sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top. very tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States