Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These are great! Made them twice now, adding things both times. Used the ingredients as a base, but added in a bunch of stuff. I added applesauce, cinnamon, orange zest and the juice of an orange (just bc they were a little dry the first time). I also substituted 1 c. whole wheat flour for the flour portion, and egg whites instead of whole eggs. Tossed in some slivered almonds, chopped pecans and blueberries, just bc I had to get rid of them. I made 12 muffins and 9 "cookies" Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
With swalker3's tips--Yummy! I might add nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is a great base recipe then I like to add a few things. I use whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose, 1/4 cup ground flax seed, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and a cup of frozen or fresh berries (I've used blue berries, raspberries, and black berries) The berries really sweeten it up:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtnflwrgrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a 5 star recipe! I substituted whole wheat pastry flour in place of all-purpose flour. I used 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites to reduce cholesterol. I also added 1 TBS flaxseed meal, 1/3 c. craisins, 1/2 c. chopped walnuts, and about 1/8 c. lowfat buttermilk to thin the batter. Topped with a sprinkle of quaker oats mixed with a little brown sugar. I used Jen H's mixing instructions to give the muffin a higher loft (see Jen H review on 4/7/10). These muffins are AWESOME and heart healthy too. Due to my add-ins each muffin has 237 calories and 5 grams of fiber. If you want to cut calories leave out the walnuts. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I thought there would be more apple flavor, but I think for this recipe, the apple sauce is more for moisture. I was initially disappointed thinking I was making a sweeter muffin, but these are very good for bran muffins. My company enjoyed them. I am giving a 3 rating for my own personal preference but they would easily get a 4-5 for anyone who enjoys bran muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I was looking for a healthy muffin to make and freeze. I just made these up this morning. I did adjust the recipe. I reduced the oil, halved the baking soda and powder and added vanilla and cinnamon. They turned out pretty good. I thought that they were a little sweeter than I thought they would be. I might cut down the sugar next time. Overall, pretty tasty. I put several in the freezer to save for busy mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a very easy recipe, but not enough bran in it for me. the muffins are light and fluffy and a big hit with my family. Didn't need to sub anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Great basic recipe. TIPS: Do as others have suggested and increase this recipe by 50% to get extra large muffins, the kind you get at the local bakery, with high crowns and edges that spread wide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I couldn't give this 5 stars because I did make some changes, but with those changes these were excellent! I switched out the flour for whole wheat flour. I reduced the baking power and baking soda to 1 tsp each, and reduced the oil to 1 tbsp. I added a cup or so of chopped fresh cranberries. The applesauce I used was homemade, with just apples and a little cider. It made an even dozen, so I'm not sure what kind of muffin pan the reviewer who said they had to 1.5x the recipe was using. But they came out great! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Wow! These were great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAY-AL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States