Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Great recipe! I follow exactly as written but add 1 tsp of vanilla extract just to add a little sweeter flavor. They freeze really great too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I also made some changes - only use 1 tsp of baking powder and baking soda - really helps with the moist factor. I added a little extra surgar as well. I had a little pumpkin puree left over from a soup I made, so instead of apple sauce, I used about 3/4 cups of that and then added a few tablespoons of greek yogurt. The dough seemed a little too stiff, so I added about 4 tbs. of water. And while I was adding pumpkin, why not a tsp of cinnamon? oh - and I too used whole wheat flour. I served them at a brunch with butter - they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I really loved this muffin! I made a few changes from reviewers' comments. I used 1 c AP flour & 1/2 c whole wheat flour, cut the baking powder and baking soda to 1 teaspoon each, & added 2T more canola oil. I used cinnamon applesauce & topped with a little cinnamon sugar before baking. Yummy! Reminds me of the Hostess oat bran muffins ( but way better) from the early 90s that I always ate. Remember those? Thanks for awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Followed the directions to a T. Excellent. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These were truly horrible. I can only get them down with a gulp of very sweet tea. I went by the stars, I now know that I should have read the comments; if it needs a bunch of modification, then I think it doesn't deserve 4 or 5 stars. Th I will try the modifications suggested; add some raisins, lessen the amount of soda and baking powder. I hate to hurt anyone's feelings, but honestly, as the recipe was written it was a waste of ingredients. Please forgive me, I'm actually quite nice, just disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
First time making bran muffins. I followed the recipe and added 1/2 tsp vanilla and a little cinnamon. Once I put them in the muffin pan I added some chocolate chips to half. They were surprisingly delicious. Even my 2yr old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Great recipe. My 4 year old loved them. I followed the recipe but changed up a few thing. Instead of applesauce I used sour cream and added 1 cup of oats in replace of 1/2 cup flour and bran. We also added dried cranberries, blueberries and raisins. Love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
These are great to make wheat free! Just use rice or spelt flour (or even coconut flour) in place of regular flour. I use less brown sugar and add about 2 TB honey. I also add ground flax seeds, cinnamon and top with wheat free granola! YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Great recipe. I used coarse oat bran(Hodgson Mill bran) and on another occasion, I used a finer oat bran. The coarser oat bran worked better for my taste.My kids love taking them to school for a healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar-n-Spice
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great recipe! For a "Carrot Cake" version, you can make this with the optional raisnins and cinnamon PLUS 1 c. shredded carrot and 1/2 c. chopped walnuts. Makes 10 large muffins. Bake ~17 min. Spread with cream cheese - yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States