Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I love this recipe. I have made the following modifications. I used whole wheat flour instead, 1.5 cup of applesauce, 2 tablespoons of oil, 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
We LOVE this recipe. We use a doubled version of this recipe and make it at least once a week, and freeze them, leaving out 4-6 to eat immediately :) Then each day, we take a few out. They defrost on their own in probably 1/2 hour or so, but 20 second in the microwave makes it even faster. In any case, they taste fresh baked. We also like to add 1 cup of chopped walnuts (not too finely chopped) and recently my wife has taken to adding 1 1/2 cups of raisins. Another variation is that we have taken to greasing a cookie sheet and putting a tablespoon glob and making big "cookies" out of them, and they actually are more convenient to eat. I can't say enough good things about this recipe. It's just the best. Well worth the effort, especially if you're like me, and just like the idea of having a good tasting source of roughage in your diet. And they are so easy to eat on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
The first time I made these muffins I thought they were too salty and a bit dry. The second time I made them I reduced the baking soda and baking powder to 1 teaspoon each, increased the oil to 1/3 of a cup and added a cup of blueberries. Turned out perfect. It is VERY important to let the ingredients sit for at least 10 minutes to allow the oat bran to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I've made these several times and they always come out good. I usually substitute wheat flour for at least half of the all-purpose flour. To enhance the flavor I add 1 tsp cinnamon and vanilla. I've also substituted yogurt for the applesauce with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
These muffins were tasty, but I change a few things to get them the way I wanted. I increased this recipe by 50% but still made 12 muffins: just regular sized. I also used 1/4 tsp. cinammon to the mix, as well as only 1/3 the oil and 1 cup low fat vanilla yogurt with 1/4 cup applesauce for the liquid. This made them very moist. Finally, I added the raisins and also the cinammon sugar as the author suggested, and they were delicious. I might addd a little more brown sugar than the recipe calls for. They were not very time consuming and baked quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Very good recipe. However, I followed past reviewers advice to change it a bit. I used 1.5 cups whole wheat flour (no bleached flour), 1.5 cups applesauce, .5 cups splenda, reduced brown sugar to .25 cups, added 2 tsp cinammon, 1 tsp vanilla, 5 tablespoons veg oil and 1.5 cups of chopped granny smith apples. They came out moist, not too dense and very tasty. My family likes cinammon, so I think I may add another tsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made only two changes; I used light brown sugar because that was all I had and I used melted butter instead of vegetable oil only because I'm low on oil right now. The applesauce I used was my own homemade applesauce that was seasoned with homemade apple pie spice. To add a little "something", I threw in a half cup of organic raisins that I soaked in hot unsweetened chai for 20 minutes (I drained and patted them dry a bit before doing so). My muffins turned out really moist, perfectly sweet and with me using the spiced applesauce and raisins, that added a really nice touch. The kids loved these. If you don't use a cinnamon-spiced applesauce, I think you should. These muffins need a little oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
These are good as far as the ingredients go. I prefer to use a more traditional quick bread/muffin method: Combine the oat bran and applesauce first, and let them sit together to soften the bran. Combine the eggs, sugar and oil in a small bowl. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add the egg/sugar mixture to the hydrated oat mixture, then quickly combine with the dry ingredients. You'll get more tender muffins with better lift because you're not developing the gluten in the flour, and you get better lift from the baking powder if you don't let it sit after it gets wet. This recipe is almost exactly the same as the one on the Hodgson Mill website and I've been using it for years. It's a good basic recipe. My favorite add-ins are butterscotch chips and chopped walnuts, and a bit of vanilla (add with the egg/sugar mixture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe! I did not have applesauce, but did have a can of pumpkin pie mix. I used 1.5 cups of that, added 1 T of honey, 1 t of Vanilla and 1 cup of black currants. Wow! Moist and delicious! Following some other advice, I cut the baking soda and powder down to 1 t each. These taste like a warm autumn afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I just made these to use up an abundance of apples that I have. I used homemade applesauce, and upped it to 1.5 cups, used whole wheat flour for the ap flour, and used 1 egg and 1/4 cup nf plain yogurt to cut down on cholesterol (mashed banana also works). I added 2 tsp cinnamon, a tsp of vanilla, and a tsp of ground ginger and omitted the oil altogether. I through in about 1.5 cups of grated apple , and next time I will probably add an additional 1.5 cups of shredded carrot and a good handful or so of raisins. I was also thinking some orange zest and a splash of orange juice would be great. This made about 11 mini muffins (bake only 10 min) and 12 regular muffins for me. All in all good versatile recipe, for a hearty, healthy muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States